Addicted To The Land of Smiles....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 28th 2009
Published: March 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well its almost time to hit the road again...



...its been 14 long months since the last adventure.. and I have to admit this one is a little too short... but now I am in the real world and working its just gonna have to do...

Alot of people are always surprised when they hear I am planning 'another' trip to Thailand... why not go somewhere new and different? Well... Even I don't know the answer to that one... I definitely have other countries in my 'to do' list, but Thailand won my heart back in 2006 and its time to get a fix for my craving!

I am off for 3 weeks (I know.. devastating!) and traveling with a good friend who I met thru work a year ago.... Amelia aka Milly, Lloydy, Mighty Mouse, Meels... Our plan is as follows:


April 5-8th Bangkok staying at the New Siam Guesthouse II (followed by my famous overnight train to the next destination)

April 9th - 13th Chiang Mai - staying at CM Blue House - here we are spending a day at Patara Elephant Farm , helping the Thai's bring in the New Year with their Songkran Festival and a few other
adventures up the sleeve...

April 14th - travel day.. flying to Bangkok then overnight train south to Surat Thani followed by a bus journey to Khao Sok National Park... I always swore I would return there.... I can't wait!

April 15th - 17th Khao Sok National Park... doing a Limestone Lakes Tours again (2 nights only though)

April 17th - April 24th Phuket... yeah I know.. I was going to go somewhere I havent gone before, but I cant resist the lure! Staying at the Patong Mercure , spending a day with Captain Mark and maybe just maybe making it to Maya Bay Camping Trip

April 24th - 25th Surat Thani ... off to my good friend Nok's wedding in her hometown... definitely the highlight of our trip... staying at 100 Islands Resort and Spa

April 26th - 27th Bangkok staying at the posh Pullman Bangkok

So what is it exactly that keeps luring me back.... here are some of the amazing things I miss about Thailand :

~ Khao San Road and all its craziness ~



I can't wait to get back to Khao San Road... staying at my favourite guesthouse New Siam 2... eating their famous banana pancakes for breakfast... and
downing a few of their mango shakes... the cheap massages down Soi Rambuttri... having lunch at Roti Mataba and dinner at Khrua Nopporat... Eating at my favourite noodle stall in Soi Rambuttri... visiting the Floating Markets with one of Tong's tour guides... the papaya salad from the boat lady is the most amazing salad I have ever eaten! Catching up with Tong and Chang and their adorable daughter Pear... catching a tuktuk to anywhere in the crazy smelly streets... visiting Suan Lum Night Bazaar (if its still open) for the best deep fried chicken in the world, while drinking jugs of frozen cocktails and listening to Thai Cover Bands sing western pop songs.....

~ Thai squat toilets ~



Yep as dirty and gross as they are.. its also hilariously funny and you always end up with one good story.... like the time at Suan Lum Night Bazaar on the last trip... did I ever tell you about that one?! ..... one to ask me over a Chang or two.. ;-)

~ Chiang Mai ~



I can't wait to see Tim from CM Blue House... shop for cheap watches and handbags at the Night Bazaar... wander aimlessly through the Sunday walking markets... then get a cheap foot massage to ease the burn... visit my favourite hole in the wall non touristy restaurant that has only suckling pork on the menu and not a Westerner in sight!

~ Overnight train ~



As much as I have bitched and complained about the smelly dirty toilets in the overnight trains, I actually look forward to the adventure... getting a foot massage at the train station, buying KFC Thai style.. stocking up on cheap alcohol at the 7-11 and settling in for a long night in bizarre surroundings...

~ Khao Sok National Park ~



Staying overnight in a treehouse, while trying to not be attacked by wild monkeys... taking in the breathtaking scenery of Cheong Liew Lake, laying awake in our floating rafthouse, trying to sleep and hoping that a) our rafthouse will still be attached to the rest in the morning and b) that another snake doesnt decide to make its home in the roof of our rafthouse! Successfully avoiding anything creepy or crawly or BOTH!

~ Crazy Bus Rides ~



Paying the equivilent of $7 for a 4 hour bus ride that is better than any scary ride at the Royal Adelaide show... winding down steep mountain roads on the wrong side of the road.. overtaking slow cars 3 abreast on the crest of a hill.... a white knuckled adventure that leaves you feeling relieved you somehow survived! The adrenaline rush!!

~ Massages ~



Anywhere and everywhere.. the only time I can afford a massage... and I take full advantage of that fact!

~ Phuket ~



The place I love to hate and hate to love...... dirty, touristy.. a feeling almost like you are on the Gold Coast... but cheap DVD's from Johnny, bundaberg rum with David at the Aussie Bar and shopping heaven at the O-Top markets.... oh and did I mention a luxurious hotel with a swimming pool to die for and poolbar that makes awesome cocktails.... wandering the smelly streets at night and hanging out in Bangla Road with all the bar girls.... taking a ride down to Rawai Beach and eating fresh seafood on the beach, followed by a night filled with fun at the Sunshine Bar with Richard and Megumi and new found friends....

~ Food Glorious Food ~



Where do I start..... the thai green chicken curry, the chilli basil chicken... the famous Banana chocolate coconut pancakes from the street vendors... corn in a cup... marinated chicken off the street.... fresh seafood.... cheap alcohol... Chang beers.... cocktails in buckets... pineapple and lime shakes... banana shakes.. mango shakes.... the deep fried fish....

~ My dear friends Tong and Nok ~



Two of the most amazing and sweet people I have ever met.. who have stayed in contact and been my friend from the day we met in 2006.... and the privilege of being able to share in Noks wedding day....


Anyway that is enough of the memories.. time to get on with it... stay tuned and see what trouble we can find!! I am not sure when we will be back... Jetstar decided to cancel our flight over 3 weeks prior to flying out... (the plus side is we have to go a day early) but if its an indication of their customer service.. we could be stuck there waiting for a flight! (Now wouldnt that be a shame.. not!)... thanks shitstar!

Reet & Milly xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



28th March 2009

Not long now!
He He Reet, I knew you'd write something soon, looking forward to following your adventures through LOS yet again. Lee xx
28th March 2009

Fantastic read and i can't wait to read more. :) i hope to see you before you go too beautiful.
28th March 2009

Bon Voyage!
Have a great trip Milly and Reet! Look forward to reading your adventures! cheers
28th March 2009

Have fun!!!
can't wait to read all about your adventures - every detail !!! good luck and have lots of fun!!!
28th March 2009

YAY!!!!
The countdown is nearing the end... and what can you say but YAY!! I cant wait to hear the tales... you have an amazing time girls... and reety I will be looking out for the Squid Jerky tasting picks... :) Chelle xox
28th March 2009

hi reet
G'day Reet, Wow...another cool T-land adventure! Cool! I am the girl from Washington who had read your blogs before leaving home...and ran into you at the CM House. Remember! Just read this blog...and it's already great....all those memories. Will be anxious to hear about your new stories. You are such a fun writer! P.s. I may be coming to Oz in October...to do some Woofing (farm stays).
28th March 2009

How exciting!
Reet and Millie, I am looking forward to hearing about your adventures. Have a happy, safe, wonderful, exciting time on your journey. Wen xoxoxo
28th March 2009

Hi Reet, so looking forward to reading your blogs, please say hello to Tong and Nok for me.....Rene xxx
29th March 2009

your trip/blogs
Have a great trip and stay safe. I think you are not only addicted to Thailand but the extensive travel blogs you post, which are great by the way.
29th March 2009

Yes Reety, let the games begin ! So i guess i will re live my holiday through your blogs to get me over my Thailand blues.
29th March 2009

Kristina
Of course I remember you.. so weird that we randomly met like that! A great laugh! Let me know if you head Adelaides way xxx
29th March 2009

Wish I was there............
Hey Reety, Wishing you a fanstastic journey and really wishing I could be there.......give my love to Nok on her wedding day, sorry I couldn't make it. Next stop England, come on, you've been promising!! Love ya Sar xxx
29th March 2009

March 29, 2009 - Rod
Hi Marita. Hope you have a great time and look forward to reading your novels (I mean bloggs again).
30th March 2009

mmm food
I want suckling pork from that store !! I am having Babli Guling (suckling pork) from Ibu Oka today in Ubud Bali - they are famous for it - saw it on Anthony Bourdain. Having some really great food here - overall I still love Thai food better...
30th March 2009

I dont guess im gettin any presents this time???"??????????????
30th March 2009

Have fun girls
Off again you lucky cow. Hope you have a great time and looking forward to reading all the details. Take care, R
30th March 2009

Hi Reet, you lucky devil .
We are so jealous, cant wait to read about your trip.Just got back from Bail had a great time ,and now have the blues!
30th March 2009

Knickerless
Nooooo I don't think so... you got more than your fair share last time!! ;-)
1st April 2009

Why do
people always ask why we go back.... Is it possible to have so many adventures in Oz? (if you could afford to fly anywhere!!) Have a great trip girls, say hi to Tong and Nok for us (they should remember my 2 beautiful boys). And don't forget....we want to hear every detail!!
4th April 2009

travel safe
have a safe flight and a fantastic time!
4th April 2009

OH NOOOO!!
Reet!! No more sleeps for you!!! hehe, hows the butterflies??
4th April 2009

1 more sleep Dan
Noooo one more sleep although up at 4am! Armed myself with some Valium for the flight so hopefully i will be chilled!!!

Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 22; qc: 128; dbt: 0.1675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb