Day 14- All Day in the Thai Labor Room Part II


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 20th 2019
Published: January 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

This morning, we attended the morning ceremony and were off to the hospital! I changed into the Thai labor room outfit, and started getting to know the specifics on the moms who were in active labor. There were two moms in active labor when we got there, and so we followed their cases until they delivered. Around lunch time the moms still hadn’t delivered so we quickly ran to lunch and got back just in time to see both deliveries which occurred within 30 seconds of each other. It was crazy having to jump back and forth between mothers to see who would deliver first! One of the mothers had a very big baby and it was fun to assess the newborn because it was so cute!! So far, I’ve been able to witness four deliveries during my time in the Thai labor room.



Being in the labor room this week has been quite eye opening for me. Before coming on this trip, I wasn’t 100% certain about which nursing field I want to go into. Lately, I’ve been debating between labor and delivery, maternity, pediatrics and medical/ surgical. Through my experiences in the labor room, I’ve decided that the specialty I am most passionate about is labor and delivery. I find this specialty to be so interesting and I genuinely love challenging myself with learning everything about it! I feel as though I’ve learned so much through my externship in the US and through my time here at the hospital, and my decision to pursue a career in labor and delivery has been confirmed. I am praying that God will open the door for me to begin my career as an L&D nurse immediately after passing the NCLEX.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb