My travel day to Kanchanaburi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
April 29th 2009
Published: April 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So.... Ill start from leaving Chiang Mai... after my last entry I got some bad news... no more room on the bus to Bangkok!! I needed to leave that day so i went in search for an alternative. Neil was going to get the night train down to bangkok so i thought that was the next best thing!!
821 baht it cost though :s nearly tripple the cost of a bus but hey!
I met up with Sean and Carina for a nice meal at the Wall for a good bye thing, they are off to Laos so was a good time for me to leave aswell.
Me and Neil headed off the train station and I realised how much I was going to miss Chiang Mai, not because of where it was but because of the people there.
Arrived at the station and jumped straight onto the train, thats when the fun began!!
Our carrage was full of non english speaking westerners - not a problem on its own but not great. Then we moved to suit the groups needs but the people who had the switch for the fan on there side refused to put it on because they had lung problems or something!!
We asked to move to another carrage and met these 2 canadian girls who were very nice, funny and we knew we had made the right choice.
Then we had another problem! The seats we had moved to were actually someone elses seats who were boarding the train at another station!! We agreed to stay here and sort it out later.
Then we had some issues with the food, wasn't what we ordered etc etc.
I got really angry at the staff as they were just mucking us around, especially when i wanted them to put the beds out and they wouldn't because of this whole faff with the moving seats!!! AAARRGGG!!!
Eventually we sorted it out and the beds came out and I could sleep 😊 Yay!

So... arrived in Bangkok at like 7am or something, had an ok sleep but still exhausted but got to press on.
I was advised to go get a local bus to the south bus station in Bangkok so off I went in search for this mystery bus named "40". One arrived and I jumped on board.
To say this bus was a health hazzard would be an understatement!! It was falling to bits on the outside and the inside but ya no thats all part of the experience. A really nice Thai guy payed my fare aswell which was lovely.
About half hour later I start to wonder when I would actually arrive at the station so i started asking around, of course local bus means no english!!
Eventually the only English speaking Thai in all of Bangkok jumps on my bus and helps me communicate with the driver... then i got some even worse news!! I was on the WRONG BUS!! AAAAHHH!!!!
Crazy as it was I actually found it quite an experience and thought of it as a free tour round bangkok!
I get told to get off the bus and jump on bus 127. I wait... boiling hot at this point... finally the gift from above in the form of bus 127 arrives and on I get!
8 baht later and i arrive at the bus station to find the coach to take me to Kanchanaburi!

I legged it to the coach with like 5 minutes to spare and sit in a very comfy seat, aircon that actually works and even a cup of water waiting for me 😊
The bus takes 2 to 3 hours to reach Kanchanaburi so I just relax and enjoy the views!
I arrived at about 11 ish and catch what I can only descibe as a bike with a trailer attached to it.. a peddle bike i mean!
I arrived at Pong Pen hotel which is very nice, 400 baht a night for air con and en suite which is great, same as nice place but just nicer and now here I am 😊
Today im planning on walking to the Allied Graves and just explore!
Internet isn't as easily come by here but ill try my best. Im here until the 2nd when I'm leaving for Koh Phi Phi 😊

All the best
xxx miss everyone xxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb