Chiang mai - last days here


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it's my last night in chiang mai. Yesturday was really good. Had my shave which was just amazing, started off my just laying down having a wet towel massaged over my face, then came the really monty smelling shaving foam, rubbed some of that in, then out came the cut throat blade and away she went, felt good!! I was just loving every second, so much so I was nodding off to sleep. Sean was having his done at the same time. After the shave part she rubbed aftershave in which stung loads but only for a minute, a few minutes later I got to feel the finished product and boy did it feel good. Well worth £1.70!! Yay for cheap labour!
We then headed off into the Sunday Market which was amazing, loads of the hill tribes came down selling there handmade jewellery and clothes, paintings etc which was really nice to look at. We found some cheap food on one of the stools and had a small snack. The rain from the night before had really cooled the place down so we thought it was perfect for a massage as we wouldn't be dripping wet and let's be honest - no one should have to massage sweat for £2. We actually found a temple where they were doing them which felt like it was more traditional and everything so in we went! We had an hour traditional Thai massage, the old lady who did mine looked like she had alot of experience. She really pulled and squeezed away at me which was painfully good, really going for it she was, at one point I thought I was going to bruise. She didn't click my neck like the toilet man which was a shame but was good all the same.
We headed off back to the Market to look at the other stools. I hadn't realised that the Market had filled all the streets, hundreds of them. The amazing tough looking police were out patrolling the streets. They do look like they could do some damage. As we were walking along all of a sudden some message came from speakers and everyone just stopped dead in there tracks, was really strange, I think it was the kings anthem or speach or something but a minute later everyone started walking again. As it got darker we came across a town square with a temple in and a stage with a band on, we sat and watched for a while but the music wasn't good at all, was some little kids who gave it there best but.... Ya no ...
We wondered round for a bit longer, I bought a bracelet and bag 😊
I was getting hungry again so we went to the wall for a bite, then over to the saloon for a few ore birthday drinks for carina, I had a few shots which probably wasn't a great idea.
Midnight came and we sang happy birthday. Had a toast or chukdee as they call it here and then played pool.
Went back to the hostel and mayes by the pool, carina was a little tipsy and went for a swim fully clothed, we just sang n stuff for ages before heading off to bed!

Today I've been planning everything and I think tomorrow I'm going to Bangkok on the nightmare bus!! :s bad times. Then going to the place where the river kwai is and the POW camps and where the death railway is n stuff which is in kanchanaburi - about 2 hours west of Bangkok.
From there I'll head for krabi, Phuket and koh phi phi. Fingerscrossed the weather will be good! So that's the story so far.

Thanks to everyone who is keeping up with the blog.
Lots of love 😊

Advertisement



27th April 2009

Hey.
Glad you're having fun :) Stay safe. xxxxx
28th April 2009

Chiang Mai - last days
Hi Hon I knew it wouldn't be too long before you had company! This is all interesting reading, thanks for sharing. You are welcome to the humidity - not nice.!! I would have liked to browse around the markets out there, not neccessarily to buy but to have a look at what's for sale. I expect this can also offer a bit of culture shock, but then again that's what you are there to experience. Enjoy it all Nathan and take care. xxx

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb