Playing with tigers


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
December 27th 2005
Published: December 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tiger cubsTiger cubsTiger cubs

We really were this close
Today we did quite a lot - and as its my first full day with out a nap, I'm pretty tired so please excuse any and all typos. I'll get pictures up next time.....there are Germans waiting to use the computer.

This morning we headed off in what was pretty much a converted pick up truck, It had partly cushioned benches and a roof - but that was the extent of the amenities. We went over to the Jeath War museum to check out the WWII exhihit. We walked on the Bridge (well, not the real one as that was blown up, but one nearby). Did a little gift shopping - got a great outfit for my nephew (he can't read so I can write that here) - and a couple of other small things.

Then we got back on the truck and headed an hour and half north to Erwan National Forest. We walked up a ways and everyone except me went swimming in the river. I'm still trying to take it easy so I curled up with my book and watched the water. And the monkeys. :-) It was interesting as everyone also swam fully clothed....there were very friendly monks there who took pictures with everyone.

We had lunch there - which turned out to be an adventure. SOmetimes what you think you're ordering isn't what you get. Rad Na is not going to be high on anyone's list for the future.

We got back on th etruck and drove another hour - My back is totally sore - to the Tiger Temple. This is a tiger sactuary run by some monks. they let us pet the tigers - full grown ones - and get our pictures taken with them. It was quite cool. Then they let out 4 little cubs who scurried around in the middle of the group. I was wearing a long skirt which to them looked like something to chase so I spent a bit of time dodging tiger cubs and their claws. But they were very cute.

There were also water buffalo, wild boars, chickens (didn't touch any - one flu is enough), and other things to see.

Back to the truck for another hour....and the group headed out ot the market to find dinner. Its fend for yourself night off the carts. Athena is determined to try
The truckThe truckThe truck

12 of us in this for hours.....
the fried grasshoppers. I hope they take pictures. I began to get all glassy-eyed again so skipped the 1/2 hour walk each way and am going to curl up with a Singha and my book.

That's it for now....tomorrow we head out of Kanchanaburi and board a rice barge. We sleep on the barge one night and then take an overnight train to the north country. With that in mind, it may be a couple days until I have internet access again....

Take care all.....
Christine


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BridgeBridge
Bridge

Athena and I on the bridge


28th December 2005

Tiger 'cubs?'
28th December 2005

Those cubs look pretty big to me! Did they purr? Can't believe you got that close to a full grown tiger... :)

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb