on the train on the bridge on the river Kwai...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
November 22nd 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I’m taking the train back to Bangkok today, and as it’s on the same line I take a detour to the famous bridge on the river Kwai and along the Death Railway built by POW’s during WWII. I settle (not the best description of the 3rd class wooden seats) into my seat and enjoy the ride, spoilt slightly by the sweaty Frenchman sat opposite who strips off his tee-shirt and hangs it out of the window next to me…eeeewwwww. And the Thai woman next to me who puts her feet up on the seat opposite and picks them. Icky! Oh, and the Frenchman is picking his ears and flicking what he finds out the window……where the wind is blowing in!!!! And playing with his nipple!
I have to take the train to Nam Tok, then just sit on the train and wait for it to set off in the other direction to take me back to Thonburi. At the appropriate points the train slows to a crawl and there’s a mad scramble for everyone to lean out of the doors and windows to take their pictures.
By the time I get to Thonburi I’m covered in a thick layer of dust
stationstationstation

a waver!
and my eyes are red, swollen and streaming from all the pollen, dust etc. thrown in through the windows during the 7 hour journey. Just the look I want for getting back to my I’m taking the train back to Bangkok today, and as it’s on the same line I take a detour to the famous bridge on the river Kwai and along the Death Railway built by POW’s during WWII. I settle (not the best description of the 3rd class wooden seats) into my seat and enjoy the ride, spoilt slightly by the sweaty Frenchman sat opposite who strips off his tee-shirt and hangs it out of the window next to me…eeeewwwww. And the Thai woman next to me who puts her feet up on the seat opposite and picks them. Icky! Oh, and the Frenchman is picking his ears and flicking what he finds out the window……where the wind is blowing in!!!! And playing with his nipple!
I have to take the train to Nam Tok, then just sit on the train and wait for it to set off in the other direction to take me back to Thonburi. At the appropriate points the train slows to a
on the trainon the trainon the train

a waver!
crawl and there’s a mad scramble for everyone to lean out of the doors and windows to take their pictures. On the way back it's muchcalmer (minus the tour groups) and easier to get photos. I also sample some of the food that's brought on at various stations, and a can of Singha beer drunk through a straw. Classy me you know!
By the time I get to Thonburi I’m covered in a thick layer of dust and my eyes are red, swollen and streaming from all the pollen, dust etc. thrown in through the windows during the 7 hour journey. Just the look I want for getting back to my


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb