Life in Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 12th 2005
Published: October 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

After adding yesterday's journal entry I ended up talking with a woman that works in the internet shop here. Over a breakfast of jasmine rice, and awesome spicy vegetarian thai goodness (no meat served on the main streets of town in honor of the vegetarian festival) she offered to show me around town a bit today... and I took her up on the offer. I saw the Buddhist temple at Chalong (and got to participate in some of the prayer rituals), then traveled to Chalong bay for frozen fruit drinks, Nai Han beach for my first swim in the Andaman sea (which was amazing), and to the local market here in town. All this gave me a much better feel for what life is really like for the people here, something that is often hard to gauge as a tourist.

That evening brought the finale of the Vegetarian festival. More on this from yesterday- the descendants of Chinese Taoist population of this island celebrate this holiday and refrain for 9 days from eating meat. During this there is much prayer, and the most visible ritual is performed on the streets of Phuket. The Chinese Tao- mostly men dressed all or white or in traditional attire pass through the streets. A small number of these are said to be in a trance like state, where their physical states are said to be far removed from this world. It order to prove this, they perform acts of self-mutilation (the piercing in the last entry) and endure thousands of fireworks hurled at them from onlookers. While doing so they accept fruit and tea offerings from the shop vendors, and return some that have been blessed (I even got one).

So in the states I always learned to be extra careful about using fireworks, and NEVER to light one near someone because everyone knew someone who's cousin's cousin blew off a finger or something. Well here everyone from kids to old men are lighting these things are hurling them directly AT the observers, sending them skipping in their sandals and fighting off the blasts with their flags (which is not very effective). Last night this process went for 2 hours, and sounded like a scene out of full metal jacket. It was quite a scene... smoke, light, explosions, people cheering. I managed to get hid by a few fireworks, and danced around a
ChillinChillinChillin

This room was full of golden buddha statues and painted murals of his life lining the walls surrounding this temple. Everyone was to remove their shoes before entering, and It was absolutely immaculate and beautiful.
few myself. Luckily I remembered my earplugs. Only in Thailand.

Today I traveled to the local mall for a great Phad Thai chicken and fresh spring roll lunch (all for like $2), hit the zoo, and then had my last meal before I began my fast for Yom Kippur as the sun sent on the southernmost point of the island, Phomtepp cape. The chicken Panang was unbelievably good, with the spicyness making me sweat (a good thing).

Not sure when i'll actually leave Phuket town... it's growing on me rapidly. I'm avoided many of the tourist "traps" (ie Patong beach) and have gotten a great feel for this place. In fact, i've only seen perhaps a few dozen farang (Thai for foreigners) outside of this internet place or hotel. Thais really are very happy people, and love their country (i'm with them on this). Life is simpler (i don't think this is word) here- the simple pleasures are more evident, with everything moving at a MUCH slower pace then i'm used to. This compounded with the amazing food, beautiful beaches and land, and great weather is going to make it hard to ever leave. Well, maybe I just
Adorning buddha statuesAdorning buddha statuesAdorning buddha statues

I partake in one of 4 rituals as I enter one of the temples. First I lit 2 orange candles outside and then incense. Next, I placed a flower next to the buddha statues and finally affixed an ultra thin shit of gold to the buddha statues.
won't (Just kidding Jazz)

Server has slowed to a halt- I Will post pictures ASAP. For those of you doing the Yom Kippur thing- have an easy fast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Sometimes thongs just don't belongSometimes thongs just don't belong
Sometimes thongs just don't belong

One of the many interesting creatures on Nai-han beach. Not pictured is this dude's topless Thai female counterpart
Beached whaleBeached whale
Beached whale

It is not a rare site to see one of these huge sea creatures washing up ashore. Despite the efforts of a dozen volunteers, we weren't able to return this one to sea.
Phuket marketPhuket market
Phuket market

Omg- what a wonderful place. This one of the many vegetable stands. I have no idea what is on the far left.... they LOVE their chilis here.
Thai food anyone?Thai food anyone?
Thai food anyone?

One of many prepared vendors at the market. Street food is huge here, and amazing. This place had about 30 prepared dishes that smelled UNBELIEVABLE. I tried my best to keep from drooling all over myself
Grapes for the kidsGrapes for the kids
Grapes for the kids

Love this photo... captures much of the essence of life here. Motorcycles are everywhere, and it is quite common to see a parent (in helmet) carting around their kids on these things.
Vegetarian fest finaleVegetarian fest finale
Vegetarian fest finale

This is one of the festivals practitioners- mid-"trance" he proceeds from table to table accepting the offerings from the store keepers. After deflecting the live fireworks blasts, they often use a cloth snake which they batt back and forth before drinking the tea. Just look at his eyes!
BOOMBOOM
BOOM

It was really THIS crazy (for 2 hours straight)
Alligator showAlligator show
Alligator show

They place the tips in the mouths of these beasts
Elephant showElephant show
Elephant show

at the zoo
Thai-froThai-fro
Thai-fro

HAD to get a picture of this. Classic
Last meal before fastLast meal before fast
Last meal before fast

Could it have been any nicer? Prolly not.


12th October 2005

Yowza!
Fireworks at your feet sounds like just the kind of thing I would travel to find. You are so lucky to be experiencing this! Keep seeking out those sweet internet cafe ladies who want to show you around. 12 hours ahead means you are in the midst of your fast, hope it is easy and that all is well. Peace and love, Melissa
13th October 2005

Carbo loading, 3 hour service
Great entry. Nora loaded me up with Pasta 2 ways. Tons of veggies/beans for protein. Then OJ and Banana Bread. It held me through an almost three hour service. This year, things were quiet and I found it easy to 'get in the zone.' Praying for 3.5 is hard, but rewarding work. An easy fast to all MOT. G'mar TOV!
13th October 2005

Amazing
Your blogs are great, i have loved reading them. Setting off on my travels in December, will be in Thailand Febuary so any advise on where to stay what to do would be great. Enjoy the rest of your journey. Faye :~)
13th October 2005

Woah!
How fun, Sol! I hope your fast went well... I especially enjoy seeing the food as I know you must be enjoying it! Eat some for me. Love thef family eating grapes shot and the one of the gold buddhas... so happy you are diving into this culture. It must be fantastic. Life is smooth here... Um, Jazz was very worried about your last comment as she thinks you might not come home. She started farting around the house. Don't worry... I calmed her down, but certainly be careful what you write! Smiles, Jess
14th October 2005

WOW
Thank you for your wonderful notes and the awesome pictures. We just finished our 2+ hour meal to end the fast. Seats at your parents table were not empty ... we had the pleasure of Marvin, Becca and Gabe for dinner. Marvin reminded Bub and your Mom about hilarious stories from his childhood. We all came close to pishing in our hoyzen. I got a little carried away at services with your donation cards ... you donated $100 for the Temple fund and bought an Israel bond for $1000, Mazel Tov! I will try to drop your car off for repairs tomorrow. I'm heading back to hot'lanta Saturday night. Love, Unc

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb