The OTHER Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 14th 2005
Published: October 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Kathoey'sKathoey'sKathoey's

Thai's famous ladymen in action. My reaction to this was mixed- while they were quite attractive, you can't help but feel a "blech" feeling inside
Yesterday I took it easy, and why not? I'm on vacation- right? I woke late and blogged, took a nap and vegged. In the evening I hit the market again and broke my fast with a home cooked meal prepared here in the internet cafe: Panang Chicken (red curry and cocunut, WICKED spicy), Tom Yom Soup (Chicken and fish broth with lemongrass and some heat), and fried Thai vegetables. I got a mini cooking lesson as I watched them prepare it, and used my handyman skills to help them to fix a fan that had fallen off the wall. I also got to try some Boppy? (friend cococut pancakes). Dessert was this crazy dish- vegetables (corn, kidney beans, sweet potatoes) cooked in coconut milk until thick.

Later that evening I took a car out to Patong beach to see what it was all about. Driving there was a trip. First off- the cars are right side drive here which took some getting used to... but I kinda like shifting with my left hand. Secondly- the road to Patong winds up and down a steep hill that seldom has a line diving the lanes. I just had to keep telling myself-
Thai dogsThai dogsThai dogs

One of many stray dogs roaming the streets here. They are quite adept at finding food, and dodging cars- which I find most impressive.
stay on the left side... the left side. Well, I made it there and back safely dodging many motorbikes, cars, dogs, street food vendors and the like.

So Patong is everything that I read about it, and perhaps more. It is loud, smelly, and full of drunken farang (non-Thais) spilling out into the streets from the bars. There are dozens of bars on the roads that abutt the beach. Everywhere you go there is someone trying to sell you something- a picture with an iguana, monkey, or perhaps a scandily clad woman. Most stores are blaring some kind of music, or calling out to you to come in. It took me all of about 15 minutes to get a feel for this place... and it made me appreciate Phuket town SO much more. A great party place, but was this Thailand for farang, not Thais.

Perhaps Patong's most well know attraction are the Kathoey (Ka-Toe-ee, Thai for ladymen see picture). It was explained to me that these are men who have gone through a frightening array of surgeries/etc. to look like women (yes, this includes the ol' snip). Let me tell you- some are really beautiful and indistuishable
Another zoo pictureAnother zoo pictureAnother zoo picture

Found some old friends at the Phuket zoo.... we bonded
from women. Anyhoo, I went to the main Kathoey bar here where there are hoards of drunken farang men sorrounding them as they dance on tables, at times flashing a bit of silicone, or some other modified part of their anatomy. eeww! But deals were to be had- only 100 baht ($2.5) to touch their boobies. (Don't worry mom i saved my money here)

It's funny, I was THIS close to ending up in Patong my first night in Thailand. I chose Phuket town because it was closer to the pier, making my trip to Ko Phi Phi that much easier the next day. Although I still haven't made it to Ko Phi Phi, i'm SO glad I found this place. Flexibility in my travels has often help me reap the greatest rewards. We'll see if I actually get on that ferry today 😊

Advertisement



14th October 2005

all's well
Entertaining and exciting stuff. Keep it coming! Fast went quickly and we broke with Marv and both his kids enjoying homemade challah, apples, honey, brisket, mashed sweet pototoes, zucini sufflet, tea, shtrudel, honey cake, banana nut bread and, of course, a variety of nuts. Not equal to unusual fare with its heat you're enjoying but Buby outdid herself nonetheless. While we ALL missed the 'King' it was a wonderful beginning to 5766. Fantastic photos and blogs are being seen now by Marv too. Keep safe and happy.
15th October 2005

Red Green would be proud
"If the women don't find ya handsome, they should at least find you handy," Red Green. Ah, the old Dramadary Dairy Daze. The heat, the sweat, the spit, the pheremones and camel pelts. Rub my shoulder Dr. Shaft... LOL
15th October 2005

phi phi
GO TO PHI PHI!!! ITS SO MUCH BETTER THAN PHUKET, AS I DISCOVERED LAST YEAR. SO GOOD IM HEADING OUT AGAIN ON THE 18TH OF OCT.
15th October 2005

Hey dude, I'm totally jealous. Wishing that I could not be a med student for a few weeks. I've come down with a bad case of senioritis, but luckily, things have really lightened up. Enjoy your travels, be safe, and bring me back something cool.
15th October 2005

Jazzie
Your dog has REALLY smelly farts! (you don't have to approve this one... ha!)
19th October 2005

Phuket
Hi Sol, When you met the ladyman did you Phuket?

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb