Last few days in Thailand + a summary of my trip so far :)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
May 16th 2009
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So the couple of days I spent In krabi were ok, not very productive as to be honest knowing the days ahead of me were going to be hectic I just decided to relax, enjoy the friendly atmosphere at the good dreams guesthouse, watch a few films with other backpackers, eat some tasty dishes they had to offer in the resturant outside my room and basically relax. I took a walk round krabi briefly, the town it's self isn't amazing but it's very calm, peaceful and has some beautiful views. The staff at the guesthouse were friendly and chatty. Many comments were made when I showed them a picture of me with straight long hair which was amusing, that's happened a few times now.
I'm actually writing this in Krabi airport although I won't be able publish it until i'm in Malaysia!

My Summary of Thailand

Some thoughts I've had about thailand -
although it is a very cheap country to live in, my budget of £500 for the 27 days in Thailand plus
3 days coming up in Malaysia and a couple in Singapore was still a struggle. I would advise anyone doing a month in south east Asia to maybe aim for £700-£800 as the comfort you would have with that sort of cash would be well worth it. I didnt mind staying the places I stayed and actually the were all very nice, all bar one night I had air con and ensuite. I drank a huge amount of water and I didn't buy any alcohol when I was in Thailand so that really helped aswell. Drinking in Thailand is dirt cheap however and for the heavy drinkers out there you can get a bottle of beer for about £1 or less. I think the past month will stay with me forever, I've actually managed to plan everything myself.. Where to go, where to stay, where to eat, what to do, how to get around and organize really long distant
travel. I've been right up north to chiang mai, central Thailand in Bangkok and kanchanburi just west of Bangkok, right down south to
krabi and even off the coast to the tropical paradise of koh phi phi.
I found some great deals for getting around by doing some research but at the same time Ive paid through the roof for a 30 min taxi ride
which cost me more than my flight from Krabi to Malaysia (kuala lumpur).
I've been really lucky with the meals I've eaten and only had one meal that although tasted great... Wasn't the best idea. I've met some amazing people everywhere I've been, a few people who I will most certainly stay in touch with and if possible come and visit again!
If I do come back to Thailand I have many ideas of places I want to go that I missed this time and places I would go back to where I could do something I didn't manage to this time.
I think my favourite time in thailand was kanchanburi and the tiger temple there. I really hope if I come back, that I get to volunteer
there. Of course I will stay at Stuart littles guesthouse with the gang!! By the time I do come back they will have moved nearer the
river kwai and either be in the building stage of the guesthouse or just finished, I'm sure they won't mind an extra hand if they're still
building!!
My worst memory of Thailand is Bangkok, I think although it is an amazing place, I made the mistake of making that my first stop and
with the nerves and homesickness I was feeling when I was there it sort of ruined the experience. In particular, the night that I spent
with no air con was by far the worst night ever!!! Never again will I stay in a hot country like this without air con (especially that the
difference in cost was about £3!).
So... Fingers crossed the next few days ahead of me will go well! Ill try publish another blog straight after this one when i arrive in Malaysia!!

Love Nathan (oh also known as dolphin 😉 haha)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb