The last few days leaving Kanchanaburi and being on the island Koh Phi Phi


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow seems like ages since i've done a blog.. i tried to do one the other day, wrote loads but then the internet died and i lost it all. Never mind.

So yeah.. i left Kanchanaburi, was really sad to leave as i loved being there so much i really did, felt like home, and at the same time i felt closer to my home aswell. I worked in the internet cafe there which was great fun, earning my keep, cheaper accomadation and free food which was good... need to save as much money as i can so that really helped. Stuart and Ice were amazingly friendly, i really felt part of the family there which was great. Got rid of all the home sickness I had and just let me relax with no worries. Perfect.

I got packed and headed to bangkok on the mini bus! Took a good couple of hours, the roads are so bumpy here its mad!!! Was flying all over the place at one point. No chance of getting any sleep! We arrived in bangkok, dropping everyone other than me off at Koh San Road and then I headed to some weird office/home where I waited for 3 hours!! Just sitting there with a young lad who was designing tattoos and playing on his fake iPhone Mini haha! Interesting. Then the time came where I was shoved out onto the street to wait on the side of a duel carrageway on a bench for the bus to arrive... Seemed a strange place for a pick up but hey, when in Thailand!
Waited there for about half hour, more people were arriving for the bus which made me feel a little at ease. The bus arrived and I was sooo happy to find out that the seats were not leather, the air con worked, the seats fully reclined and all in all, it was a million times better than the bus to Chaing Mai!
Even better was the fact I had a double seat to myself, sitting at the front of the bus with no chairs infront of me, no people sitting behind me so i could recline my chair as far back as i wanted without feeling a bit guilty and I was right near the TV yay!!
We started moving and a little while later they put the X-Men Origins film on.. the dodgy copy with special effects still in the making and strings attached to people, was interesting to watch.
I tried to get some sleep and I did get sleep on and off the whole journey but getting comfy was a mission and I realised how much I move around.
At 6am roughly we arrived at Surat Thani on the south east coast of Thailand where the people heading to Koh Penyang got off. We waited at a small cafe/bus station and were picked up by a pickup truck taxi and taken to another identical looking cafe where we waited for the bus to take us to Krabi.
Half hour later we got on the bus for a 2 hour drive to Krabi. Didnt manage to sleep on that one either...
Arrived at the Pier in Krabi and boarded a boat to take us all to Koh Phi Phi. The boat was a bit of a dissapointment as we had to sit below deck, couldnt really see out the windows and the seats were very hard!
An hour and a hlaf later we arrived in Koh Phi Phi and I was lucky to meet a guy called Tony who was also alone and we decided to split the cost of a room.
We settled in to a place with air con, tv, ensuite and a balcony which between the 2 of us worked out cheaper than what i have been paying so far on my trip.
We then went for a walk to the beach.. a gorgeous beach it is to. I bought a towel and at the same time my boat ticket back to Krabi. Went and sat in the sea for a while which was good fun, the tide was going out though so we kept moving deeper and deeper.
I went back, had a shower and a rest as i was very tired, then went in search for some free wifi. I was surprised to find 3 wifi spots all in the same area. Wehay!! Not the best internet around seeing as we are on an island but better than nothing.
I was sitting in a bar called Jordans Irish Pub when i was offered a Job!!!! Even better!!! Promoting the bar at night from about 8 till 12, basically paid for my room which was good and was a good laugh to.
Started work with Tony aswell... had to wear a t-shirt saying 100% Single on as it was singles night, got free drinks all night although i only had coke and water as Im not drinking and yeah.. was just good fun.
Went back to the room and slept ok... Tony never actually came back to the room which was odd.. he met a girl and decided to stay at her place haha. Was ok for me though cause i like having a room to myself!

Woke up, chilled out in a little book store eating breakfast and surfing the net, read my lonely planet. Went down the beach again for a while, just chilled and relaxed. Went to work that evening.. had to wear a t-shirt saying I Love my 2 Girlgfriends.... was a swingers night haha.. interesting... strange ideas they have here!
Today im leaving to go back to Krabi, two nights there until my flight to Malaysia KL, bit nervous about the next week as im moving around alot and its going to be hectic... flying to Malaysia on 16th... going on the night train to Singapore on the 17th arriving on the 18th.. then flying out of Singapore on the 21st early morning to Perth!! Can't wait for Oz now!!

So.. thats my last few days.. Internet isn't easily come by everywhere so i never no when i can update this.. all being well ill get some at somepoint over the next few days!

Speak soon
Miss everyone lots

Love Nathan 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb