Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia - it's good to be back


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
May 18th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So... I'm back in Malaysia. Was only 9 months ago I was here. It hasn't changed at all!!
I flew in from Krabi which took about an hour... The flight was ok, Air Asia is a no thrill airline but was by far the best decision I've made as flying here saved me a huge amount of time, cost hardly anymore than getting a bus but most importantly avoided the dangers of south thailand which seems to be on every backpackers mind.
I landed at the LCC terminal at KLIA and walked to the terminal building to pass through immigration. First we had to have our temperature checked as part of the influenza A (swine flu) prevention procedure. I was so glad we didn't all have to have blood tests as I would of just passed out haha.
I finally got to passport control and got stamped into the country and then headed to collect my bag. I walked round all of the luggage belts but my flight number wasn't on any of the signs. I asked a member of staff who clearly had no idea what I was saying (some might think working at an international airport might require language skills) but luckily I bumped into some people from the same flight who told me our bags were just been dumped near a hatch... Hmmm well I suppose air Asia is a budget airline.
I grabbed my bag, changed some money then bought a bus ticket to KL Sentral, only to find out I had about 5 minutes to run to the bus.
As I was running I could see staff running towards me from the bus (very dramatic) I was carrying about 20kg split between 2 rucksacks and a traditional shoulder bag from Thailand. The staff grabbed my bags and we all ran towards the bus, dripping from the eat, panting for air but we made it.
We set off for the station and I just felt like I had ran miles.
Being the last one onto the bus I was stuck with the chair next to the only snorring man on the bus, louder than anything I had ever heard come from the human nose and mouth. Everyone was looking over as if to say "kill, kill, please" but I just put on my headphones and blocked out the noise.

We arrived at KL Sentral, it all looked exactly the same, the Hilton hotel just out side, the donut shop on the 1st floor... It felt like only yesterday that I was here.
I walked to the KTM desk to book my night train ticket to Singapore for the 19th then booked a taxi to take me to casavilla (same place I stayed when I was here before). I had a lovely chat with the driver about my plans and where I was from and everything. He pointed out a few places along the way, I did feel like a tourist but was interesting non the less. We arrived at casavilla, it had been extended but still looked exactly how I remembered.
The guy who runs it even remembered me and pulled out his phone with loads of photos from when we stayed, mainly photos of us playing pool, was lovely to think he remembered.
I booked into a room, unpacked my things then went for a walk down memory lane.
I found the anuja hostel where we stayed our first night... Not the nicestof places but the resturant they run serves the best roti canai so I had to go have one. Oohh it tasted so good, I had an ice milo with it and I just enjoyed every second of it.
I went upstairs to see dorm 1 where all the guys had stayed and just had a it down on the bed I slept on, was really nice to come back.
I headed over to the bus station, which still had the little fruit stall on the right hand side, to change some money at a better rate.
It was getting dark so I decided to head back to my room. Sent some emails as I have free wifi in my room then went to bed.

The next day I went for my roti breakfast and decided to have banana with it aswell. Was tasty! I also had the most amazing freshly squeezed orange juice in the world. They really are the nicest drinks ever!!
I had slept in quite late so actually that breakfast was more like lunch but was still good. Then I walked to china town for a browse round the fake rolexs and other fake goods. I past the Nando's which we ate at when we were here before which bought back memories, I asked a guy to take a photo of me which was funny. I took a walk round china town for a while, getting hassled by everyone to buy something!!
I remembered that all the stuff I bought last time never actually got used so I adopted my take only photos leave only footprints approach and just enjoyed the friendly banter about authenticity of the things they were selling.
I came back to the room and had a really long chat with a guy about photography and filming before calling it a night and heading to bed. Stayed up watching alladin on my phone first though haha.

Today I had my traditional breakfast and decided to go for a very long walk to the Petronas Twin Towers. I could see them so I knew where to go but boy was it a mission to get there!! I must have gone a very long way as I honestly don't remember it taking that long before!! I passed a few interesting sights including the Malaysian tourist center and the KL tower which used to be the tallest telecommunications tower in the world until 2004 when I guess a bigger one was built. Finally after about an hour and a half of walking I got to the towers!!
They were stunning!! I walked round the outside of them and then had a walk round the inside which even though I had done before, was just amazing.
I sat outside by the fountain and had some food and just enjoyed the views. It really is a picture perfect sight.
I couldn't bare the idea of walking back so I got a tube to a station near where I was staying and walked the 10 min difference. So much better than walking and cost less than 40p.

So that's what I've been up to the last few days. Tomorrow evening I leave for Singapore on the train. When I get there I'm planning on walking round for a bit then crashing out at the airport for the night haha. My research tells me that people do that all the time and Singapore airportis rated no1 for sleeping at haha. Free Internet there, places to eat, drink, shop. Perfect.

Speak soon I hope.

Nathan



Advertisement



22nd May 2009

Malaysia, oh how i miss it!
Hey nathan, sounds like your havin an awesome tome travlin around the world! Reading your blog for malaysia bought back so many memeorys, whitch hotel was the casavilla? and how could you not go to the titiwangsa tube station! oh the memorys lol! have a good rest of trip mate! xxx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb