Finding Nemo


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 30th 2010
Published: March 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I moved from Paradise to Thong Nai Pan Yai, a beach on the North East of the Island... The weather was stromy for a few days so i sat in my hammok met people for food and watched the rain fly by.
I left Koh Pangyan for Koh Toa after a the night of the annual school rave orgasiased by zee German's, its a sureal event which begins around 2pm with children of all ages taking to a stage to dance then by 11pm there Grandma's are up there in pink fluffy dresses dancing along out of time ... hehe highly amusing, espially after a few Changs... Suddenly out of no where a bar hidden in the trees lights up, fire works start going off and trance music starts... Time to dance me thinks 😊
5 hours of shaking my thing i wonder home to pack... In the morning i leave for Koh Toa at 9am... So i better get my socks on... Luckly i'd started drinking water a few hours before bed so if it wasn't for that sneaky food i ate at 3am i should have been fine, should have... I woke up at 6am throw up for about 10 mins, took a shower then fell back into a deep sleep, yucky i know!

I got to Koh Toa with almost no trouble, the taxi over the Island was full so i sat in the back, bumping up and down on the dirt road which was slowly being washed away by the over head storm... Lucky the kind people in the car let me put my bag inside so only my body got wet, very very wet.
A little hungover on the rocky 2 hour ferry i still managed to be harrest by 5 diffrent Thai men trying to sell me driving tours.

I ended up at some swanky resosrt on the main beach with someone showing me a beautiful room, ac tv the lot... No thank you! Far too many people, busy drunken travellers is not my sence right now.

Got a taxi to a smaller beach and found the perfect place, with beachfront modest little huts 😊



It was a little scary the first time, we had a two hour pool seassion where i was shown the ropes, or the tubes (haha, a little dad joke for you) I was 2mertes under, pratice taking my breating equpiment out, my funny liverpudin instrutor Greg, or Gary as i liked to call him had shown me what to do, unfortunatly i breathed in some water, opps... i began to panic, swam to the surface, i was choking and rather shaken, but after i relised what i'd done wrong i litarly jumped stra5ght back in at he deep end!



My first two sea dives were amazing, we went to 12 and 15 mertes, i saw some lovely little fishys... I found nemo, along with some eels, stringrays, trigger fish and many other little cuties... It really is a whole other world under the sea.



After i had completed my course which included many funny/scary excircises at the bottom of the ocean, i couldn't wait to get back under, so that night along with my buddy Rosie, a lovely English/French girl went on a night dive... My goodness, it was a little scary, very dark and bigger uglyer fish come out in the dark... The most amazing part was when along with Gary we turned off our flashlights and moved freely in the ocean, phosphoressence (to us avarge joe's its when your movement caurse paricals in the sea to glow, i like to call it fariy glitter hehe! It was beautiful, we had our own little dance party under the sea 😊



Unfortunatly the next day on our deep dive my ears wouldn't equalise, i popped and popped but nothing happened i looked to Gary who was making signals that i couldn't decipher in my confussed state, i saw the other two ladys who i thought were under me going down you can imagiane my surprise when my feet hit the sandy ground... I was going down??? Confussed and in pain i looked to Gary who was holding up so i didn't fall on my bottom, i found out later i had vertigo, then at 30m i suffered nitrogen narcosis, basically however you are on pot you'll be at 30m deep, unfortunatly i don't smoke pot for the reason that i get paranoid and sleepy so when Gary tested us on open in a conbernation lock at 30m, i couldn't i was out of it, as we started swiming around a little shallower the paranorer kicked in, we'd see many videos and read books about all the illness you can get under the sea, and the effects started fillng my mind, did i have decompression sickness, have my ears gone...? mintues went by in a fearful flash, i noticed a few mintues before decent that my mask was filling with green... YUCK my nose is all snoty ugggh! As we got closer the green stuff flashed red, what was going on...? At tht surface my mask was full of BLOOD nose bleed... could anything else go wrong on this dive... Yes I couldn't hear out of one ear at the top, CRAP!



Couldn't go on the next dive head was in much pain 😞



My ear was bad for around a week later, its still not completly better, but none of what happened on that dive we stop my going again, i loved it!!!



How is everyone?

I lost my address book, so can everyone send me there addresses please


Love you xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb