It's Christmas, you know?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
December 28th 2008
Published: January 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have got sick twice traveling by boat. I never enjoy the feeling of being at sea (sorry Dad!!), but of all the times I have been on a boat (and in the last 3 months have been a lot!!), I have been sick twice... and both have been in Ko Tao.

I came here the 1st time 3 years ago to make my Open Water course and, on my 1st day at sea I got sick and puked my breakfast... but the fishes were grateful and, even though I didn;t get in the water that day, I saw lots of species...

A few days ago, after meeting Aimar in Chumpon, we got a ferry to go to Ko Tao again and dive a little bit more... the trip was so bad that word spread all over the island: the trip from hell. A good number of passengers ended up with their heads in plastic bags having a look, for the second time, at their breakfasts; I said hello to my Oreos again... never, never before I had such a bad time and sometimes I even thought we were going to capsize and that will be the end of my travels... I threw out all that was in my stomach... and I kept puking...

But we finally made it to the Turtle Island, which is what Ko Tao means...

Excited, we enrol for the Advanced Diver Course, which consists in %!"(MISSING)adventure dives". Dax and Aimar had a great time and they (say) saw a shark; I only did 2 dives, for several reasons: 1st and more important, I am very paranoic and, after 7 dives I still feel claustrophobia and even though everybody is looking forward to see sharks I am scared; the instructor was an English girl not very lively and she wasn't very inspiring; also the visibility was really bad, no more than 5 metres; even so, I did my first night dive and it was less scary than I first thought.

After 2 days of diving and nights of drinkning beer until 3 am, we decided to take it easy and realx on the beach and snorkel a bit.

Christmas Eve came suddenly, as being on the beach doesn't help the spirit and a few people got together for a curry dinner and party on the beach, with a Janis Joplin
beer drinking gecko  /  gecko bebiendo cervezabeer drinking gecko  /  gecko bebiendo cervezabeer drinking gecko / gecko bebiendo cerveza

actually, he was drinking the water on the bottle... don't miss its tongue!! / en realidad estaba bebiendo el agua condensada en la botella... no os perdais la lengua!!
song included!!




Sabes que es Navidad?



Me he mareado 2 veces viajando en barco; nunca disfruto de la sensacion de navegar (lo siento, Papa!!), pero de todas las veces que he cogido un barco ( y en lo9s ultimos meses han sido muchas!!) solo 2 he "echado la pota"... y las 2 han sido en Ko Tao.

Vine aqui la primera vez hace 3 anhos ha hacer el primer curso de buceo y, en la primera salida al mar, vomite el desayuno... pero los peces me lo agradecieron y, aunque ese dia no me meti en el agua, vi mucha vida marina...

Hace unos dias, despues de encontrarnos con Aimar en Chumpon cogimos un barco para ir a Ko Tao y bucear un poco as... la travesia fue tan mala que se corrio la voz por toda la isla: el viaje infernal. Una buena parte de los pasajeros acabo con la cabeza metida en una bolsa de plastico viendo, otra vez, su desayuno; yo les dije hola, por segunda vez, a mis Oreos... nunca, nunca jamas lo habia pasado tan mal e incluso a veces parecia que ibamos a volcar y que ese seria el fianl de mis viajes...

Pero por fin llegamos a la Isla Tortuga, que es lo que significa Ko Tao.

Con mucha ilusion nos apuntamos al curso avanzado de buceo, que consiste en 5 inmersiones de "aventura". Dax y Aimar se lo pasaron genial y (dicen que) vieron un tiburon; yo acabe haciendo solo 2 inmersiones por varios motivos: soy paranoica perdida e, incluso despues de 7 inmersiones, me sigue dando claustrofobia y, aunque todo el mundo esta deseando ver tiburones, a mi me da canguelo; la instructora era una inglesita mas insipida que un plato de arroz blanco y no me inspiraba mucho y la visibilidad era malisima, no mas de 5 mts; aun asi hice mi primerqa inmersion nocturna y no me dio tanto miedo como yo pensaba, de hecho, con el agua mas clara, hasta la hubiera disfrutado...

Tras 2 dias de curso de buceo y de noches cerveceras hasta las 3 de la manhana ya que teniamos mucho de que hablar con Aimar despues de tantos meses sin verlo, decidimos tomrlo con calma y relajarnos en la playa y hace snorkel.

Llego la Nochebuena sin darnos cuenta, ya que el estar en la playa no ayuda al espiritu navidenho y nos juntamos unos cuanto para una cena de curry y arroz (no tan buena como las mariscadas de mi abuela pero no estubo mal) y una fiestecilla en la playa con cancion de Janis Joplin incluida...



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

curry!!!curry!!!
curry!!!

my Christmas Eve dinner... it's no Galician seafood but it was very nice / mi cena de nochebuena... no es el marisco gallego, pero estaba muy bueno
snorkelingsnorkeling
snorkeling

Dax, Aimar and Aitor swimming away... / Dax, Aimar y Aitor alejandose a nado...


3rd January 2009

nice journey
wish i have mine...
6th January 2009

Feliz Navidad chicos!!!!!

Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 34; qc: 124; dbt: 0.1998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb