Another Day in Paradise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 17th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I have 6 subsrcibers here. Is this like MyFace or SpaceBook where popularity and success is determined by how many friends you've enlisted to claim you? Can I possibly be discovered on UnRavelBlog? (which by the way...pretty sure I got about 30 friends on MySake and I know all of them currently, not a huge fan of the re-connect after years of no communique, with the exception of Katie...cause girl...we are making some seriously friggin hilarious memories! You know it's meant to be when you can write a rap song about what your date and my friend did at our wedding in Mexico. FakeBook on the other hand I kinda feel like I was forced into it (Theresa...I will say that seeing you're birthday photos fully made it worth it to sign up, because I had not sucked helium from balloons in a super long time...great party, Happy 60th!!)
On the bright side of blogging, I got a posse...there's 6 of 'em (don't mess) two of them I can identify for sure. One of them may or may not be my mom. She's 5'2". Alright...so 6 is solid...with me, makes 7. I can't remember if it's Cappulates or Montagues that
Nice view at the Evening MarketNice view at the Evening MarketNice view at the Evening Market

I'm eating Mango and Sticky Rice, yum!
I want my gang to be. (I want to be the tougher of the two for sure, not being judged of course on spelling, right?) So, my gang...being the non-judgers will not care how many times I misspell alcohal. Even though Shaun is in my gang, but not officially subscribed to my blog gang he was semi slow/quick to point out that even in the dang Amendments page I quoted my mis-hap by misspelling it again...

4th paragraph, same posting
"Which I don't mind letting alcahal dictate some...I mean half...who I am kidding...the majority of my decisions." hahha, misspelled aclohol, what did you expect?
Double hahha, obviously! I cannot spell the word that means you've had too much! I mean, they don't ask you to spell along with showing your ID when you buy. And here, I would totally succeed cause I can spell SINGHA! Mostly because it has the prefix Sing, and even though Shaun is the Singha in this family, I also have been known to Singha!! (Not at karaoke though. Only once, Lisa's birthday. Note to self if I ever do Karaoke again...do not pick a song that has a thirty second whistle prelude. Guns N
Sleepy NathonSleepy NathonSleepy Nathon

We love it! Slow, baby slow
Roses, Patience...duh?
Damn, happy hour is fun!
and then Shaun pointed out I accidently made this mistake....

Rough Prestart Posting...
"The bit about the food poisong at that dead show..."
(pretty sure that's not how you spell poisoning, hahaha)

But what's the point in looking backward? Most good things are supposed to happen tomorrow, right?. So...

About mid-afternoon after logging a few hours at the pool, today I insist to Shaun that I need more pictures of people commiting acts on scooters and I needed to get my shop on. Ban Taling Ngam, (Ban means village) where we're staying is on the southwest side of Samui and had been referred to as "un spoilt" (I'll need to check if it's unspoiled or the prior) When I started to research this trip months ago, after determining Thailand, there was a million factors to consider. Honestly, price was huge and it won. Being that we were to be gone for 5 weeks this had to be considered. If money were no object, I probably would have chose the Andaman Coast the entire time. Well, then, not so great because I would not have met Poupe or Lucky for that matter. Really, though I do feel we made the right choice, not only on island, but specifically this side of the island. I had read that all the action was on Chaweng and Lamai Beach and that the west coast didn't have the "ammenities" (really means doesn't have rockin night clubs and McDonalds) and was "quieter". Good thing we know how to raise Hell. It's fun to go into town but then have your little haven at home, plus it forces you to go out and live the actual lifestyle. Too often "they" book trips to amazing countries and never leave the resort. I saw this all too often while on St Croix, and honestly aside from the fact that I was robbed more on that island in months than my entire life combined, (a) I pretty much deserved every robbery and (b I wouldn't of changed anything beacuse it also forced me to face what other people may have gained from that which was prejudice. I refused to be scared and live a life that inhibited me to experience everything another culture has to offer, just because of a few punks that caught me while my gaurd was down. I mean if you just want to wear a friggin bracelet that allows you to consume frozen drinks all day and eat buffet food that mostly includes an attempt to re-create western dishes, why not vacation in Tampa, that's pretty all American? I love that we've been here a week and already know all our neighbors and what they're burning. Being an island, obviously it's too expensive to throw away everything. Hence the burning. It's happening at all hours of the day...I choose to believe it's mostly coconut tree debris and maybe a bit of garbage, the burning plastic smell is a comfort smell. Like cooking something from home. Refer to Felony Flats bio on cooking crack reference. So, we drive our little route on the loop to Nathon and do a bit of shopping. Having been in the former employment field of Breeder's Rights, aka Patents/Trademarks, you'd think I would have a problem buying counterfit merch. At first I thought I did until Suki offered me a pair of D&G glasses for $9 bucks, sold! I could go on and on to rationalize this, bottom line...it's wrong, I know it, I still did it, oh and the glasses are Sweet! And, by the way...if our manequins looked like this...maybe I could talk Heather into going to mall with me when it snows in Portland?


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Diva!Diva!
Diva!

You go girl!
Wood CarvingWood Carving
Wood Carving

These are on our chairs at the villa, just amazing!
Wall ArtWall Art
Wall Art

at the villa on the wall, this is all one piece of wood!
In Nathon, looking at all the Orchids and MossIn Nathon, looking at all the Orchids and Moss
In Nathon, looking at all the Orchids and Moss

Corner Restaurant, great photo op bar.
Barber ShopBarber Shop
Barber Shop

To Have a Hair Cut To Have the Beard Shaved To Clean the Ear hmmmm...
I love you!I love you!
I love you!

Reminds me of Shiloh
Evening Market in NathonEvening Market in Nathon
Evening Market in Nathon

Best street vendor food, by far!


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb