Now in Koh Samui after new year in Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

When Luke and Mark arrived with me on the 30th they had 1 night of accommodation booked and I had trouble finding any after the previous 2 nights at a high price, so I stayed in with them (well mark was out all night). Eventually I stumbled up on a restaurant 2mins from the beach which had 2 single bed rooms available for just 800 Baht each. So we took them to share between the 3 of us. The girls who worked there were lovely too, we had good food and they even did a small load of washing for me for maybe 80p also.

We hit the beach the following day and I had my first go on a jet ski, and they are so much fun!!

For New Year we just hit the town and it was so hectic. People were buying (including us) these huge reels of fire crackers and just blowing the place up it was mental. The rest was nothing special to be fair. I will upload pics when I bring the camera memory card down in the new memory card reader, which works in these Internet cafes.

After that, it was just recovering really but as in my earlier post Phuket was just a crowded, popular beach holiday location for all, I am glad we stayed no longer as that is not what I am after with this trip long term.

We touched down in Koh Samui yesterday (on a small propellor driven 70 seater plane). The airport was a small building and the planes fly just overhead of where we are staying - Chaweng. Those 2 being here before got us dropped off at a guest house and it was full so we tried the one next door where there were only 2 rooms free but for 600 Baht. They took them as I went on the hunt for perhaps a fresher smelling one. I found one for the same price (9ish pounds per night) which is pretty nice but no hot water! So I am on the lookout still but keeping the cost down! Luke turned up at my door on his bike at 6am after having no sleep due to the rave going on below his room, the vibrations were causing his stuff to move about it was that bad! We have also rented mopeds/bikes each for a taxi fare a day to get around.

The weather at the mo is cloudy and spitting with rain and is set to do so for some days now unfortunately. Those 2 are flying out in a week and I have no flight booked so I can wait for the good weather although it is still rather humid. I will probably take a boat out somewhere. Never the less I am over the moon to hear DJ Marky who I missed in Bangkok is playing somewhere local tonight (Top funky Drum and Bass DJ from Brazil) so we will be attending as well as checking out other bars along the strip including the reggae bars.

I have had enough of sitting at this PC now so am back off!

Hope you all had a great New Year!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb