Last Night in Bangkok, into Phuket + James Bond Island Tour Day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
December 29th 2007
Published: December 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

After my last post I later hooked up with the boys in Bangkok and ended up having another crazy one until the early hours. Ed was off so he hooked up with me and introduced me to some other chaps including Satish from Malaysia. I can't remember much more apart from being on an elephant. I don't think these elephants are in their healthiest environment though. Anyway I woke up the next morning with the reception ringing me at 11am asking if I was checking out at 12. 'You damn right' I said as I gotta get a taxi to the airport then for my flight at 2pm to Phuket so I got a move on.

It was a good job I gave it an hour to the airport as the traffic was terrible. Anyway was a quick flight and touched down before a taxi man took me to his local travel shop which he worked for to sort out accommodation. As it is New Year and Phuket and being the main family package holiday destination in Thailand they could only get me 2 nights in a guest house they pre-booked rooms for at 2000 Baht a night(including their commision)!! I had no choice as was told everywhere else was full so did not want to take the risk at the time.

They also tried to charge me for a taxi but I resisted their price, got dropped at the airport and jumped in with a friendly Scottish Couple to the resort. I then showered and took a walk down the street to try and get some photos off the camera but no good, went to pay at the adjoined bar and got talking to an Englishman there who happened to be from Leamington, not far from where I live so had a quick beer with him before hitting the sack for an 8am rise for the James Bond Tour Day.

My opinion of Phuket so far is that it seems more like Tenerife being the main package holiday resort. Plenty of life for new year though!

So the James Bond tour day, I just had to go on this to see that famous island as used in the Man With The Golden Gun. After about an hour coach journey we went Via some Temple to the water where we boarded the narrow boats. These things I am sure where using what seemed like huge old coach engines! Anyway we made way through the beautifully sculpted Phang Nga Bay until we reached the very island used in the movie where we had 30mins to explore and take some shots. Then back aboard to a quick sea canoing session (where we had to lie down to get into these caves), a bite to eat then back on the bus to the cool elephant show, which also included Ox Cart riding and other features. Later after returning to my room was a stroll down the strip for a beer or 2 then another early night to catch up on sleep, which will be needed for Luke and Marks arrival the next day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.434s; Tpl: 0.159s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb