Be careful of your ginger, Ginger


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 4th 2007
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sawaat Dii,

Well, after our totally exciting NYE things could only get better and they have.

The resort and spa in Pha Ngan was amazing, I am yet to meet a Thai person who is rude or unfriendly.....much like me really. Our resort was on the monutain overlooking this AMAZING beach. Food at the resort was pretty expensive so we spent most of our meals at a beach just up the way a little bit. On our first night we met 2 Indians who grew up in England and now live in the USA (Kanal and Vavik). They took a liking to us and shouted us drinks all night. They have red bull conentrate over here so one second after you have a gulp you feel that you can go on all night. They had been in the Island for a few days and the place they took us to was called Hideaway. It is an amazing little bar with raised platforms where you can sit on the triangle cushions. There wasnt anyone else there so the DJ let us take over.

For the pas 2 nights we have been hanging out with 2 South African Cinematographers (I realise this may be spelt wrong but I am just getting into the Thai spirit.) Rob and James were H.O.T. So last night they took us under their wings (but we probably would have been less *insert explicit word here* up without them). Due to the nature of my doings last night I am not free to comment on what I did because of fear of royally sticking my foot in it, so instead I will just give you the summarised version of the event.

Haad Rin beach is on the South East corner of the island and is 100%!V(MISSING)agas looking, minus the pokie machines. We arrived by long boat, which took abut 45 min or so. As you slowly approach the shore all you can see is people, hundreds and thousands of people. To the far right is the 'Mellow Mountain' bar where they sell magic mushroom mlkshakes. This bar also contains the only free toilet in sight. So Michelle and I along with or tissues that were prepared earlier, went to the loo and on the way out, we passed by 2 guys who were on their 5th milkshake and were freaking insaine. Along the beach there are about 20 or so bars, each with their own music playing and people spilling out onto the streets. So, weaving out way through the she-men, we come across some Aussies, and then some more, and some more. Somewhere in this mosh of the party I loose my thongs. This is a major pain in the ass, but at the time...it meant nothng to me. So anyway - this is the part of the story that you wont be filled in on.......then me and James fell 'asleep' on the sand and had sand from ass hole to breakfast, which apparently in South Africa doesnt exist as a saying. After the 4am boat left for our resort (which we didnt get on) we had 2 hours to wait until the next boat. Throughout this time, I think I heard the phrase 'I am soo cold, I just want to go home to bed' about 4,000 times from James mouth, all whilst he is my lap trying to sleep it off.

Just a word on the drinks over here - freaking amazing . They come in buckets and have vodka red bull concentrate and a softie of your choice. One bucket and you are flying!

After ariving home at 7:08am (thats right Owen) this morning we had about 4 hours to sleep it off before we needed to check out of the resort and make our way to Koh Samui where I am currently typing to you lovely people in Australia.

The weather here has been great absolutly STINKING HOT and I am loving it. I did get a little burnt however yesterday so now I am all covered up.

Let me know whats been going on and Happy New Year to you all.

Mum, Dad - not sure about the Bangkok thing on my credit card, it may have been the hotel we booked, what does it say. I dont have the paperwork with me now but I will have a look and get back to you.

I am really hungry.

Adios

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb