Friendly food, tasty staff.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Erawan NP
January 9th 2007
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey people,
Even with your complete lack of writing to me, I have decided to continue because it will make you jealous.

This is the 2nd time I have written this email, so I apologise if it doesnt make any sence, it got deleted the 1st time.

So since the full moon party a fair bit has happened. We went to dinner at a Thai rest. and saw the most hilarious thing to date. All of the workers had t-shirts printed up that were celebrating their Anniversary or something, and they all said 11st Anniversary blah blah blah - 11st not 11th...oh it was gold.

On Saturday both Michelle and I went to Anthong National Park where we saw some really awesome stuff. It took about 2 hours by a really slow boat to get to the enterance. The 1st stop was where we went snorkelling. Now as a swimmer, I assumed that I wouldnt be too bad at it - WRONGGGG! I right shat myself. I thought I was goingt to drown coz it took forever to get the breathing right. While in the water tiny plankton decide to have a good feet and bit everyone a zillion times, its like someone is pinching you. The fish were amazing though (I forgot to add that it rained all day) but because of the rain, some fish werent out apparently.
We also went to some other islands but nothing of note to add.
After we got off the boat and ate dinner we againg met up with James and Rob (who if u remember from my last email were the HOT South Africans) and went to this club called the "Green Mango" this place was HECTIC! Spent most of the night drinking. I thought I was pretty good consdidering how much I had drunk however after waking up the next morning I found this was WRONG! There are a bunch of photos of me asleep with Rob smiling like a tool next to me. i ALSO discovered that I had picked up a random Sweedish tank guy.

The next day we spent in transit and at 5 we finally got to our hotel in Bangkok and we met up with our tour at 6. Everyone is pretty awesome, and we only have a one guy who is american. This isnt what makes it great - really those comments should have been kept seperate.

Anyway day 1 of tour - we went for a ride down the river on a long tail and took some footage of some 'middle class' housing. Next we caught the 2 hour bus 2 Kanchanaburi where we currently are.

Today we went for a hike to Erawan National Park. It is a small hike to each "level" of which there are 7. Shock Horror - I won and got to the top the fastest. Basically each level consists of a little waterfall that you can swim in. The only level we swam at was level 2 and that was one the way back down.

Kanchanaburiu, where I currently am, is where the Bridge over the River Kwai is. This is where HEAPS AND HEAPS of WW2 people died trying to build a railway line connecting Burma and Thailand. So we went to the museum which is traditional Asian style is completly glammed up and as a result is HIGHLY tacky. Also saw the bridge which is a little bit of a let down coz the original bridge was blow up at the end of the war so this is just a replica like 300m up the river. While most people went Kayaking after wards Michelle and I hired push bikes and went and saw the WW2 cemetary. I seriously had to stop myself from crying it was so sad.

The place we are staying at has no hot running water so I just had a cold shower which was so refresing coz of the heat. There is a market just up the road where last night i got royally ripped off. Got a noodle dish, a waffle, 3 doughnuts and a bag of watermelon fpor a total of AUS$1.50 RIPPED OFF!

Anyway I g2g coz I have to go and eat.
Stay cool people.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb