Koh Lanta


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
January 29th 2017
Published: January 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Koh Lanta! A lot more relaxed than the other places we've been so far, I can understand why people would come here for a couple of weeks holiday. The beaches are lovely!

When we got off the ferry we walked the 15 minutes to the beachfront resort we booked. Upon arrival we were taken to our room and that's when it all got ugly. I have come to realise that accommodation standards over here are not the same as they are in other countries I've visited. I've also come to realise hotel websites lie! This room absolutely took the piss. The door didn't close properly allowing mosquitos in, there were electrical wires hanging out everywhere, there were cobwebs on every wall and ceiling and worst of all the bathroom smelt of raw sewage! I refused to stay there, and so I told the receptionist how awful it was and we left. Luckily five minutes up the road was our 2nd choice hotel so here we are in our comfy bed with a nice balcony and big bathroom. Luckily again after taking pictures of the disgraceful room, Agoda who we booked through gave us our money back in full within five hours!

To make up for the rubbish morning we spent the evening wandering around the late night market, buying bits and pieces and getting head massages! Lovely! To top it off we indulged in the street food that was on offer.... Thai pancakes with nutella.... I can't even!

Bringing us on to Saturday. We rode to somewhere we've been very excited about visiting the whole trip! Lanta Animal Welfare! The only vet service on the island it's mission is to sterilise all cats and dogs to keep the population down and adopt as many out to forever homes as possible. We saw lots of lovely dogs and cats and I got to cuddle a very cute kitten, who I wanted to take home with me! Actually I could've taken loads of them home with me, but Mikey said no! *sad face*

We found a great little beach bar for lunch, but after about an hour I started to feel really ill, so we headed back for a bit. A few hours later I started to feel better so we hopped on our scooter and rode to the Irish Embassy. No they can't help us with passports but they can help us with getting some decent food! It's a pub that serves Guinness and pie and mash and has English sports on tv... sorted! We spent the evening here chatting, laughing and making decisions about our next location!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb