island life


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
October 10th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a pleasant bus and ferry journey to ko lanta I arrived at Keantiang bay view resort just as the sun was setting. I checked in to my beach hut which costs about a fiver a night, dropped my bags and strolled along the beach. Its on the southern end of the island and is one of the best beaches I've ever seen. I wish I could show some pictures but I have yet to work out how to post them on this blog site. Its about 2km long and crescent shaped with steep sided rocky out crops at either end. White sand throughout and a tree lined backdrop with guest houses and beach bars dotted all along, I loved it. That night I had some food In the restaurant and had a beer. I went to the bar next door and got talking to a couple from dorset, Ben and Leigh. They were on the last two weeks of a round the world trip and were travelling with another couple from the midlands Adam and Michelle who had been in thailand for about three weeks. The are all a great laugh and we lay about and drank way too much chang and chatted for most of the night. The next day I stepped out to the beach, It was red hot and I got a bit burned. It was good just to sit around and read all day. In the Evening I went for a run along the beach It was magic, such a lovely setting to run against the beach as always had about ten people on so it was ideal for running, I ran for about an hour up and down the length of it, ace! Met up with the gang that night and went along the beach to a group of bars just up a small hill. One bar looked out over the whole bay so we sat and drank, chatted about travelling, and told funny stories. Such a good laugh. The next few days brought rain so it was hard to get out in the sun. The two couples said they were off to ko pi pi the next day so we had to say goodbye, but that's how it goes out here. It was a bit more quiet the net few days, I decided to walk over the rocks at the end of the beach, sometimes on all fours, not the best idea in a pair of flip flops. But it was fine and when I got round the headland I discovered a tiny beach of 500m long with a single bungalow just in the trees. Some lucky sole had a privet beach! It was nice to see and stroll along but It was not as good as the beach I was on, It had no bars for a start! I spent the next few lazy days walking round the island and read my way through a couple of books it was really relaxing. One night I saw England win over Australia in the rugby which was good to watch over a few beers, I think it was a saturday. After my 6th night I felt it was time to move on. I booked a ticket all the way to Ko phangan via krabi. I thought about using the government bus but the journey involved a couple of ferry rides which could prove tricky but the guy at the guest house did me a good price. When I checked out the only charged me for 5 nights instead of 6, what a grate place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb