Staying on Koh Lanta


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
November 28th 2017
Published: November 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I'm writing this from the ferry from Koh Lanta to Krabi. My initial plan to go to Koh Lipe, a beautiful island / nature reserve, with excellent diving opportunities, was not working for me anymore. It takes half a days travel to reach it and another to go back. Since I also want to do some climbing (Ton Sai or Railay beach in Krabi) and wanted to be back in Bangkok with at least a day to spare, I would have had only one full day there. Together with the relatively expensive/boring journey and the expected bad weather, I opted for a different route instead.

Booked a ticket from Krabi to Bangkok, by air, on the 4th, so I can stay there at least one night before the train leaves, maybe see Khao San road and some other interesting places.. Do some shopping..

Speaking about shopping.. And rain.. From the morning of the day after my arrival onward, it rained for 2 days straight :/. Spent the first one planning, blogging, reading, etc. At night, when it seemed to clear up, I got to a local night market by scooter, with two pairs of Germans. The idea was to get some food and maybe buy some things.

The market was quite big, but most if it was asian-sized clothing and electronics. Also, some kind of fair. There were a few shooting galleries, where people could loose money quickly and a real .. How do you call those... A ferris wheel, but turning horizontally, with horses and other animals? Mostly for children. And there was a lot of mud. I did not feel tempted ^^. I had a fruit smoothie and some sushi bits, but we opted for another food place after that.

This is when the rain started again. :'(. We lingered for at least an hour, but decided to chance it around 22:00. My helmet did not have a visor and the pouring rain made everything real hard to see with the glasses. As the most experienced (yay!) scooter driver, I went in front and managed to just miss our exit from the main road by a 100m. The streets were full of potholes and parts of it was flooded. The best part was were an oncoming car splashed the whole river of muddy water on me.. Anyway, made it to the end and felt much better after a (albeit cold) shower and dry clothes.

On the second rainy day, I went scootering again, with Andy and Pascal, 2 of the guys from yesterday. We were wet anyway, and the temperature was still .. 27 or so, so.. Why not?

We went to oldtown. A part of Koh Lanta, where (some of) the houses are on stilts. In the main street, I found some nice Thai clothes, to bring back home, or use in the final few days here.

Next, another waterfall. This time only half an hours walk trough the jungle (and 45m back, on the side of the river, walking rocks. See the cave..gain some experience and find a lootbox)

Final day here was a snorkeling tour. I was pretty excited for it, but it turned out to be bit .. Lackluster. Lots of travelling (minivan, longtailboat) and just an hour or so of snorkeling. The cave was the most exciting thing. :D

We all got a life jacket and we're told to 'swim, not snorkel'. I was the only one that brought the snorkel anyway; there was a lot of fish in front of the cave mount. Which was just a big opening in the rock. Wide. Deep. Dark after a while. We went in.

The guide brought one light, didn't use it all the time. That might have made a few people nervous, but it's very nice to just experience the cave like that. When are you ever in the water in total darkness? I savored it. Yes, you may call me weird. Pleased to meet you 😊

Coming out of the cave on the other side, we were met by a beautiful beach, palm trees, steep rock on all sides. Apparently, this was used it the past, by Thai smugglers. They would leave their loot here for a while, when negotiating prices on the mainland.

We stayed for 15m, made a few photo's, contemplated climbing the rock here. Didn't. and went back trough the cave.

Saw a few nice coral plants, a lot of fish and the food was good as well. (some rice curry). It's just.. Too much boating.

Which brings me back to today. I'm on a boat.
And hopefully soon in Krabi, Ao Nang. And then to Ton Sai. Climbing paradise, here I come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

A stand with crickets, maggots, worms, etcA stand with crickets, maggots, worms, etc
A stand with crickets, maggots, worms, etc

I only now saw the 'take photo 10 baht' sign. I don't think you can charge people for taking a photo in a public area anyway..
Sorry. I could not resist..Sorry. I could not resist..
Sorry. I could not resist..

.. Not really sorry
Band photoBand photo
Band photo

We all sang horrible
Breakfast at snorkeling day. Way too much! Breakfast at snorkeling day. Way too much!
Breakfast at snorkeling day. Way too much!

There was another plate, with fries, and some grapes. And a bottle of water. The price? About 3 euros.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb