Revolving Comments on Thai Culture


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
February 11th 2010
Published: February 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

1. The Thai’s truly have no concept of time. This does not have anything to do with laziness but rather an adherence to some strange and unique clock impossible to grasp by any westerner. I imagine if depicted it would look something like Dali’s melting clock - Any effort to try and contain anything to a set time is futile and will only make your head hurt.

2. Vegetarianism is met with a combination of confusion, horror and laughter. Reading about the Thai version of Buddhism (Theravada Buddhism), I have come to the conclusion that the religion was changed to support the fact that Vegetarianism does not exist in Thai culture. As offerings are given by the Thai people to the Monks, they seem to have done away with the vegetarian part of the religion. After all the monks do have to eat.

3. The Thai’s have a group unity which amazes me. Student’s have no problem sharing their hard earned grades with their less adept friends and freely allow copying or even do additional to help out another student. A co-teacher described it quite eloquently in terms of art. In the West we all have a proprietary desire to get ownership of our great works. In Thailand, much of the greatest art work has no ownership claimed. Instead, the culture takes credit for their artistic achievements.

4. They never stop giving. I tried to give my co-teacher some cookies to thank her for all her help. She came back with bananas. The next week she also left cookies on my desk. I am humbled by the kindness and good nature of the people here.

5. The lady boys (Kathoey) - According to some Thai creation myths, there was originally three genders created, Male, Female and “two spirited people.” I like this definition as it stands. However, there are many who translate it at hermaphrodite, other’s a women in a man’s body, in other words, transgendered. Thailand, a place that was never colonized by the West is one of the most excepting countries when it comes to homosexuality. Lady boys abound even as tender 14-15 year olds there are many in my classes. The acceptance I see does San Francisco proud. There is supposedly still good amount of bias but my Thai doesn’t really extend to such discussions of sociological acceptance. What I see is an unparalleled openness toward homosexuality.

6. I don’t think recycling has even been conceived of yet. Thai’s put EVERYTHING in a plastic bag or two if you are lucky. They will also use straws for drinks of any size including small straws for large waters, or beers for that matter.

7. 7/11’s did what no Western country managed to do politically. They colonized Thailand and are EVERYWHERE.

8. Thai’s do not like losing face. Ask almost any question and you will get yes. The best is, “Yes! Same, same, but different.” A phrase now common at any tourist t-shirt shop. Asking directions is also a risky prospect as it is a crap shoot if you will get someone who knows that answer or not. Regardless, they will tell you something. Similarly, students will always say they understand, especially when they don’t. “Ok, Ok Teacher, I often get impatiently.”

9. I often wonder if there is an artistic gene that has been passed down to all Thai’s. The art work my kids come out with blows me away. Drawing my stick figures on the board I get lots of muffled giggles.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb