Road trip: Pai – Mae Hong Son – Doi Inthanon


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand
January 15th 2011
Published: January 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

06/01/2011 – 09/01/2011

After arriving in Chiang Mai I rented a motorcycle to go on a small road trip to Pai, Mao Han Song and mountain Doi Inthanon.

The whole drive would be up and down, very curvy, surrounded by the jungle mountains..excellent for speedy motorcycle!😊 A nice thing about cruising around is you come across many things as well, as such along the way I was invited to a funeral (more celebration) of someone's grandmother, went to local festival where everyone was dressed in traditional clothes, etc
After a good ride of 3 to 4 hours I arrived in Pai. Pai is a really nice and relaxed, has a good vibe and lots of night markets (it is just one big night market actually); although there were some trekking opportunities I didn’t go on to one cause of my injured feet, so first day was really relaxed. Next day I took the motorcycle and visited some natural park with nice view points and then went on to the giant cave, Lod cave. A total rip off to be honest, 550 baht and I visited the cave in 40 minutes…before going local travel agent told me about sunset
grandma's funeralgrandma's funeralgrandma's funeral

a lot of smiles...more then 100 people from all over came to pay their respect
cave so expecting to see some gorgeous sunset from a cave there were just bats flying around..
I got to know my neighbour, a nice Thai lady and we went out for some beers and dinner.
Next day I moved on to Mae Hong Son; although bigger then Pai there was shit to do there except for the small night market and the one bar.. so next day I drove on to Doi Inthanon, mountain with the highest point in Thailand (2565metres) where there are two temples located on the highest peak of the mountain, nice to see.
Running on gas fumes, just made it back to Chiang Mai!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

at Lod cave...at Lod cave...
at Lod cave...

crocodile stone...


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb