Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 15th 2011
Published: January 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

05/01/2011, 10/01/2011 – 11/01/2011

First day in Chiang Mai I came all the way from Koh Phangan. I kindly liked Chiang Mai with its old city area inside the four walls, the loads of nice restaurants and small bars. And ofcourse some temples, although I already had seen quite the number of temples during my journey I still paid a visit to the three main ones during a walk around. In the evening I met Florian, Swiss guy and we went out for a beer, even paid me a Belgian Stella! (cost about 4 euros!)

Next visit to Chiang Mai was after motorcycle trip; I arrived there late on a Sunday. Apparantly Sunday evening there is a night market in the centre, and it was the biggest one I saw till now, the entire city centre is full with little shops on both sides of the road; even if you didn’t had any plans to buy something you still would end up with useless stuff..especially western girls were carrying more then one full plastic bag;
Back in Thailand I met an Israeli guy who told me all about his great bungee adventure in Chiang Mai…well next day I booked the jump as well! It was not super high, +50 metres, but the adrenaline kick surely was present, f* amazing!! They made the rope somewhat longer so I could touch the water beneath as well..

Later on I caught up with Amy whom I met back in Bangkok and so Tony (met at bungee), Amy and me went out exploring Chiang Mai nightlife. First bar was excellent!!..a Belgium beer bar and it happened to be the owner’s birthday so we had plenty of free drinks, and free food…stoofvlees en vol au vent!!!!!..life can be so easy to appreciate Although it was a very fun night out, the ending for Tony was a bit less…hit by several Tai ladies, lost his shoes and woke up in the garden of a Thai family I…nevermind

Almost missing the morning bus, feeling awful, moved on more to the north to Chiang Rai. On the way we stopped….for a temple; however this was really worth seeing, a beautiful all white temple decorated with white glass and fontaines, some nice peace of architecture!
Arriving in Chiang Rai I was still feeling awful, helpless trying to find my guesthouse..till Crish (English/Indian) came up to me and offered to help me finding my guesthouse. She was really cool and in the evening we went out for biiiig pizza and beers.

Thailand has been good: nice beaches, cool people, lots of parties, etc but then again it took a big bite of my budget and actually was craving to do some genuine less touristy travelling..next stop: Laos baby!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb