Bangkok, Ayuthaya, Sukkothai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
May 4th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So here I am now almost one week in Thailand and have had so much fun already. I spend two days in Bangkok and found a really quiet place down a small alley to stay. Away from the main tourist area but in a walking distance. I just walked around those two days relaxing from the hectic weekend before because of moving. And ofcourse I enjoyed the nice food: fruit shakes, fresh fried vegetables and sweet fruit, all sold on the streets. What a joy for the mouth, so delicious!
After two days in Bangkok I felt like leaving, so in the beginning of the afternoon I checked out and took a small walk to the busstop. There I met a Thai guy who was also waiting for the same bus. We got to talk and I learned that he studied a bachelor Political Science and now worked in a Hotel in Bangkok. He was very eager to work for the gouvernment. There is a test you can do to get a job at the gouvernment, but if you really want to get a job you have to pay 100.000 Bath, that’s around 2000 euro. Corruption…. He was very helpful after the busride at the Mo Chit busstation to help find the office where they sell tickets. And we went our own way. The destination I was heading to was Ayutthaya, one of the former capitals of Bangkok. When I reached Ayutthaya I had a sort of flash back to my experiences in Nepal a year before. The busdriver couldn’t understand me and I could not make clear exactly where to get out, so he dropped me somewhere. There I was again walking around in between ancient temples on both sides of the road figuring out which way to go. Eventually I stopped a Tuk Tuk driver and tried to explain where I wanted to go to. That worked and after 10 minutes I was on my destination. I checked in at my hotel, and was welcomed with a big smile by the owner. Then I went for a walk to find a place to get something to eat. It was getting dark and suddenly I saw another westerner walking around who was searching for the same thing: Food. We found a nice restaurant and got to talk. He told me he is from Boston and teaches english for a living. Now his plan is to teach in Cambodia. At home he worked with children that are involved in gangs and he told me some horrific stories he had experienced. Especially when you invest so much time in a person and than suddenly he gets shot dead at a party. Really heavy it must be. Meeting him realised me of how much there is to do and that the only thing you can do is your own indivudual best to help. I appreaciate meeting people like him and see that there are people who want to help others like he does.
The second day in Ayutthaya I started with a boattrip around the river and saw a lot of beautiful temples. It was nice to sit on that boat and just to let my thoughts go. In the afternoon I rented a bicycle and cycled around the city/village to see more temples and a small museum. It was such a hot day!!!.
The next morning when I was searching for a place to have breakfast I met a Dutch gril named Linda. Whe soon noticed to have the same plans to go to Sukkothai and shared a taxi and took the same bus. It was quite a long wait, but because of having a nice company the time went fast. The bus took around 7 hours to reach Sukkothai and I found a guesthouse after looking what’s the best. With Linda and two people from Switserland we had some dinner. Afterward I took a nice shower and fell asleep whith my thoughts on looking forward to see the town the next day.
Linda, Janis (swiss guy), Serena (swiss girl) and me went the next day to the old Sukkhothai city. We rented a bicycle to see all the temples. They are such a nice people to spend time with and their attidude is very laid back and relaxing. Everything is fine and no problems, so relaxed. After coming back I had a power nap and walked around the city by myself. Looking around at the stalls around the street and trying to grasp the Thai spririt (or something like that…). In the evening the four of us had something to eat and we wanted to see some thai aerobic outdoors. But probably because it is Sunday we saw none. Afterwards we had a drink at the Choppers bar (it sounds worse than it actually is..) and had a lot of laugh and fun. Such a great days I have so far here in Thailand!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb