Went Weaved and left!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
August 5th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We went for a two day one night visit to Pai. With debating what we wanted to do for the rest of the trip we decided one night in Pai would be plenty because many of the activities to do there are similar to what we already have done in Chiang Mai. Our stay in Thailand is moving rather quickly for all the sights we want to see. Many of us are anxious for the islands so we leave tomorrow for the dreaded travel down south, spending the entire day tomorrow on a bus back to Bangkok before we can fly to Ko Chang.

Pai is Thailand's woodstock. It is a small village in the valley where you can find Thai's with fros, dreads, and long luscious locks. Dogs wander in packs like an italian mafia, mosquitos run rampant, and it's not abnormal to walk beside a flock of roosters. Stores sell funky accessories and knitted fabrics and restaurants play live music. The small town of Pai definitely reminded me completely of Woodstock, New York. Pai is a very quiet villiage where one gets around by motorbike, foot, or bicycle. It was pleasant not being harassed by tuk tuk drivers
Out houseOut houseOut house

Equipped with lovely squat toilets
hoping for business. The air was much cleaner in Pai than any other place we have been to.

The ride to Pai was a very painful experience, that I do not wish upon anyone. Three hours of curve after curve up a mountain for half and down a mountain for the second half. By curvy I mean a 180 degree turn left followed by a 180 degree turn right repeated for three hour straight. In Pai there was a shirt that said "Pai 762 Curves;" We felt each and every one of those curves during and after the ride to Pai. We were lucky to have a rest halfway through the trip. It wasn't one of those lovely I90 stops equipped with a McDonalds, Auntie Anne's, and workable toilets...oh no it was a little snack shop with an out house and squat toilets. I think I would have rather had a direct ride. Kristin was lying on the side of the highway (the one non busy street that leads to Pai- Not dangerous at all for a person to be lying in the break down lane) attempting to get her stomach to stop churning. I think at that point she was hoping to be back on the elephant.

In Pai we decided that a weaving course would be quite interesting. Many females make a living weaving belts, bags, clothing and more. We thought it would be nice to see what these woman endure on a daily basis. If for any reason I commit a crime punishable by death forget lethal injection just set me up with a loom. I have patience for 19 children calling my name simultaneously, a nine year old poking me repeatedly to get my attention, and even children chatting so much that they never get work done, however I have no patience for a pieces of string being woven together. Weaving is way too frustrating for me. My experience gave me a headache, backache and neckache and I think after my day long manual labor I may need a massage. I have to admit that I admire the ladies' talents and patience, but this job is not hyperactive enough for me. I doubt Weaving Workshop Level 2 is in my near future.

We just arrived back to Chiang Mai (I found the best way to conquer the 3 hour curvy returning ride is
Our room in PaiOur room in PaiOur room in Pai

We had four beds in a row! First time we all have been able to stay in one room together!
to keep your eyes closed for the duration of the trip.) for one night before we take a 10 hour bus back to Bangkok. We splurged on a room tonight rather than paying three dollars a night we are spending twelve. It is quite the upgrade maybe I won't have to sleep in my bug net. It probably will be a few days before I blog again. I am very excited for the next part of my journey. I love being by the ocean. We add a new person to the group as well which is very exciting. The islands will be a nice way to end the trip.

Until next time- much love,

Christina


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

We are in the ValleyWe are in the Valley
We are in the Valley

Check out the mountains!


6th August 2008

Give the loom a chance.
You are too quick to cast weaving off. It sounds like a very calming activity. Give me a loom on my porch overlooking my yard so I can watch my birds. Back and forth with the pretty thread, no phones ringing .....sounds wonderful. I'm glad you are at least trying some of these relaxing things there is a lot less to worry about when you are weaving and painting than when you are riding ATVs.
6th August 2008

So jealous!
You are having so much fun and I am totally jealous.
7th August 2008

phew.
I am glad to see that, although you found that you don't like to weave, you are still enjoying the trip. Can't wait to see pix of the beaches! They have different sea creatures there, make sure you know what lurks so you don't get (hee hee hee) caught off guard!
7th August 2008

Tied to a wall
gee...sounds like sooooo much fun, sign me up! what were you thinking? didn't you read my entry about the weaving!?!?

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb