Adios Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 4th 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

View from Wat PhrathotView from Wat PhrathotView from Wat Phrathot

Overlooking Chiang Mai
It is very fun traveling without an itinerary. We stayed an unexpected two days in Chiang Mai. We have been finding so much stuff to do around here that staying a week was necessary. We have gotten very familar with this city that everyone seems very anxious to move on. I think today we have completed all the various journeys and adventures that we all wanted to endure... so we move north in the AM for Pai.

Yesterday was a very chill day for us. We decided not to make it to the temple early for sunrise. We slept in and had a fantastic breakfast, in fact the best yet. (The eggs actually looked and tasted like eggs!) After we decided to go to Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep Rajvorihara to see the Golden Chedi. The Golden Chedi is a temple all the way on the top of the mountain. Wat Pharathat overlooks the entire city of Chiang Mai. The car ride (taxi in the back of a truck) up was very sickening(lots of turns), but the view was unbelievable that it made the car ride worth it. I found it so fascinating that the taxi driver stayed with us the entire two hours we were there. it only cost 12 American dollars. The money exchange is unreal. There is 306 stairs to the Golden Chedi. We had to put garmets that covered our shoulders and legs on in order to enter the temple. Tank tops and shorts are frowned upon, extremely disrespectful and of course we had to take our shoes off, pretty much like anywhere else. The temple was so colorful and we got a bunch of cool pictures. This trip got me into wanting to understand the buddhist religion a little bit better.

On the way down the 306 stairs we stopped at this little cart where a woman was selling bracelets. These bracelets were made from candle wax (I think that's what she said). We all bought a few of the funky bracelets. (Dolly don't you worry...I got you a spiffy one too cause I know how much you're sadden by the fact that this is not a "doll and doll" adventure. I'm making up for it though!)

When we returned from the Golden Chedi, I indulged in a fabulous foot massage and read my book. We had a wonderful dinner at the Herb Garden. We have been there the last three days. We made friends with the owner Ian and his lil son Mike. The food is absolutely amazing. You never know we may end up there tonight!

Today we took a Batik Painting Class. The studio was in the home of a lovely woman named Ann. Batik Painting uses wax. We learned some Canting techniques. I was impressed with my inner artist , because the final product came out amazing. This was a fantastic way to spend our last day in Chiang Mai. Painting was very relaxing, Ann was a lovely woman to talk with,a nd we learned something new and exciting. Her mother made us a fabulous thai lunch and overall it was cool to be immersed in Ann's culture.

Next time I write we will be in Pai.

Love,
Christina

I added more pictures to my last entry: "The last 48 hrs"


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Batik PaintingBatik Painting
Batik Painting

Ann is in the middle!


4th August 2008

Wow !You did that !
That is a very nice print you made. It's a good thing you included the picture of you working on it for proof. The temple looks very exotic too. Did you have to buy the wraps you wore on your legs? Have a safe trip to your next destination. Love Maka
4th August 2008

You're quite the artist!!! You all look fantastic. I'm so glad you are having a great time... Until later, Cheryl
4th August 2008

Pretty Pictures!
Hey! It sounds like you are having sooo much fun and doing really awesome things! I'm glad you are safe and love the blogs :)! Also awesome painitings! Who knew you were so talented! They look very Chaing Mai or however you spell it! Keep Safe! xoxo
4th August 2008

Dude!
I am so proud of you. You look like you are having an awesome time. I love that you are just chilling over there, doing your own thing, totally having a life-changing experience. I cannot wait til you get back cuz I want to hear all about what prompted this trip. I love following along and it is making me totally jealous to go on a fun excursion of my own. I miss you tons and look forward to reading more. Cap'n Sketch
4th August 2008

I am impressed!
Wow - beautiful - now look at that you've learned yet another thing you can teach your kids (and me) this year!!! Love the batik and the temple is beautiful.
5th August 2008

Ma
Umm no we didn't have to buy the wraps, we borrowed them! I'll let you know when I arrive in Pai. love, Petu

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb