The Last 48 hours


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Time is so much different here. I feel like I have been in Thailand for two weeks. We have done so much in the last few days that it seems impossible for me to only be here for five days. I have much to fill you in on so lucky for me I kept a journal to remind me of all the lovely adventures. I have created a title for each experience.

Day One:

"The Flight of the Gibbon"- We went into the jungle to zip line across trees. It was a very thrilling time and a very interesting way to see the beautiful landscape. After we went to visit a waterfall. Climbing to the top of the waterfall was our excercise for the day. The view was rather peaceful.

"I offended the waitress"- When we returned back from the jungle we decided we were in much need for American Food. We saw that this bar served french fries. I myself was looking for my favorite captain and I was very disappointed to find out that they in fact did not have it and had no idea what it was. So I proceeded to order a vodka, peach schnaps, pineapple, and cranberry. The woman seemed rather confused as to why I wanted that assortment in one drink. My comment word for word was: "You know a sex on the beach." Well, that's right my friends she had no idea. She threw her book and found another waitress to deal with us. I think she took it very literally. Oops! I was extremely embarrassed and continued to apologize for offending her. Again, major language barrier so I am not sure if she even understood my apologies. After the confusion with the drink, I just ended up ordering a beer, simple and I guess "beer" is universal.

"Night Bazaar"- After dinner we went to this Night Bazaar. It is a huge street market with many inexpensive items. It was very difficult to restrain from buying things. We are not looking to put anything more on our backs. Our packs are heavy enough. On the last day in Thailand we are hoping to chuck the unnecessary items and return home with soveniers. According to Eric, you can buy everything we see in Thailand at this weekend street market in Bangkok. I hope he is right. (Hey A- many awesome fabrics here...I know how you collect them. I'll see what I can do!)

"Sleep" - We returned home and I was asleep in literally fifteen minutes. The girls are getting jealous on how well I have been sleeping. I'm sure once I am done with my blog, I'll be a sleep in no time.

Day Two:

"Try not to step in the elephant dung" - Today we were off to see the elephants with our expectations high. We have been excited for this since we booked our trip. The morning adventure began with our tour guide picking us up in a pick up truck. We had to ride and hour and half in the back of the truck. The usual way of travel here. The truck was equipped with lovely benches. This would never fly in the states. I noticed here that there is no fear when it comes to driving. Everyone drives like maniacs with no helmets or seatbelts. Little children sit on the front of motor scooters with no helmets. It is a very different perspective for sure. We took a quick detour to a butterfly orchid farm. These travel agents always put in some silly thing to go to on the way to our big trips. It is annoying, but we did see some pretty flowers. Once we arrived at the camp we quickly boarded our elephants. We walked up the road for about an hour. We were fortunate to have an elephant afraid of cars and extremely hungry. He often detoured us into bushes. This was in fact not very pleasant for the people riding on top of him, but he was very content and I guess for him that was all that really mattered. His owner (who sat on his head during the ride) tried to steer him away and to continue on with the journey, however the elephant was persistant in getting his way. I found this quite comical and very cute. Kristin on the other hand had a look of terror. I kept asking if she was ok and she put her little smirk like everything was ok, when in fact she was thinking get me off this elephant. In order to get the elephant to do what the owner wanted he had to jab the him with a sharp object. This was kind of sketchy and most Americans would look at it has animal cruelty, we began to feel really guilty because the elephant really didn't enjoy giving rides to humans. I don't think they find it a pleasant way to spend the day. Near the end of the ride, Kristin cave in pleading to get off the elephant ASAP. After the ride we were able to visit with the elephants. I enjoyed the cute baby elephants and they really enjoyed the bananas I was feeding them. For being such large animals it was surprising to see how gentle they were. Lucky for me I was able to sit on one of the bigger elephant's head. Feeding and mingling with the elephants was definitely the best part of the day. The only thing we had to worry about was stepping in the elephant dung.

"Christina 0- ATV 3"- After the elephants we took a three hour ATV ride through the mountains, hills, valleys and villiage. This was such an awesome way to see the beautiful landscape in Northern Chiang Mai. The views were spectacular. Land like this in the United States would be cut down to put in shopping plazas and condos for sure! I wish I was able to capture many of the sights on camera but when you are steering an ATV (especially one that swerved to the left) it was quite difficult. On this trip we cut through many villiages. It is unreal how simple these people live. I loved seeing the children play outside. They were having so much fun with huge laughter and when you looked at what they were playing with they had nothing. Our children had home would be extremely bored complaining about nothing to do, and these kids here with actually nothing to play with are having the time of their life. It really gives one a totally different perspective.- At home children are so spoiled! On the ride we visited a Long Neck tribe. This tribe is extremely interesting because woman have to wear these large metal things around there neck and legs. The medal pushes their shoulders down giving an illusion of a long neck. This tribe believes that woman are incapable of protecting themselves from tigers, bears, and snakes therefore it is essential for them to wear the medal for protection. Men, however can fight off the unexpected attack from these critters. I find this quite silly, because I know and everyone knows that woman can protect themselves from animals as well as a man could, but I do respect their culture and did find this to be quite interesting. On the last leg of the ATV ride our guide thought it was clever to bring beginner ATVers on what I like to call an "expert" course. During this leg of the trip I lost every battle with the ATV. Let's just say I got stuck two times going up a hill and then lastly got stuck in a ditch and tipped the ATV over screaming bloody murder for help. I was the last in the pack and no one saw me go down. I am not going to do any justice explaining the story now. It's definitely one to tell in person. I did, however, had a view choice words for the guide and the ATV that I never really articulated in public, because well I'm a lady! (OK...family members you can laugh now!) The good thing is I didn't get hurt and I have quite the story to tell. One more thing to add about the ATV ride: Lex, Ab, and Caroline I saw some Cows! Cows here are very skinny not like the ones at home! Also, saw a goat, rooster, lots of dogs, ox, chickens and a monkey!

The time has come to head off to bed. I think we decided to stay one more day in Chiang Mai. We want to visit this temple overlooking the city for sunrise. Hopefully we can also squeeze in talking to the Monk, and either a thai cooking class or thai art class. Finally, tomorrow I am so excited that I can do laundry. Clean clothes will make me so happy.

I hope all is well. Enjoy!

Love, Christina

P.S. I am too tired to proof read... so be nice!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



2nd August 2008

FUN TIMES
It looks like you had such a great time except when you crashed the ATV. Hope you are loving almost every minute of your time there. And we don't have any elephants in Boston so I have no really fun stories for you. Cute picture of you feeding the elephants. Be safe and have fun! Love, Jona
3rd August 2008

Can't wait to show the blog to Sean!
Hey, awesome job blogging and sounds like you're having an awesome time. I can't wait to show this to Sean. We are off on our bike trip on Monday and we'll be thinking of you ATV-ing around Thailand while we bike around the North Shore! (P.S. I might tell him you were looking for "B monster" instead of "Sex on the Beach"!!)
3rd August 2008

Oh my goodness!!!
I never thought I would see the day that Christina would come that close to that big of an animal!!!!! Minnows...what??? Haha it looks like you are having so much fun!!!!

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb