Scottie is a Savior!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I didn't think I was going to be able to blog today, but because we had to stop in Bangkok tonight I have time to let everyone know that my father was right! (Scottie don't be getting a big head now, it's only this one time!) Anyway, before I was leaving for my trip my dad insisted on taking me to the supermarket to but food to bring with me: granola bars, peanut butter crackers, goldfish and candy of course. I, however was not too thrilled about carrying an extra bag, but to please my father I brought all the food with me. The candy and goldfish only lasted four days, but this morning we still had a box of granola bars and a box of peanut butter crackers. We got on our bus from Chiang Mai to Bangkok at 7:00am and we didn't arrived to Bangkok until 6:00pm. It was a very long trip. We didn't have time for breakfast and our rest stop for lunch served some pretty wretched food. Basically for the eleven hours we munched on the granola bars and peanut butter crackers. So if it wasn't for my father nagging me to bring food, the four of us would not have survived the bus trip. Even with the snacks we were extremely hungry and food was a priority once we got off the bus. So Thanks Pop for being your over prepared, anal being that you are...you saved your daughter...again! (Ma, you have my permission to smack him if his ego gets too big! You know how those Howard's get!)

I also forgot to blog about one of the most random things I've seen along this journey. It was our last night in Chiang Mai and we were sitting at a restaurant to have dinner. (Just a reminder, Chiang Mai is a pretty big city and we were about an hour away from the jungle). My chair was pointed towards the street and I could see everything that walked by. We were in mid conversation and I had to interrupt the girls, because there was an elephant standing at the doorway. An elephant in the city? I was so perplexed. There were three men walking the street with an elephant trying to sell bananas to tourist to feed their elephant. I really couldn't believe it because what elephant wants to be in the city? He looked like the saddest creature. We were all pretty disgusted by these men. On our way home we ran into the elephant again. Macaela (an extreme animal lover) confronted the three men yelling at them that it was not ok to treat their animal that way. I then when on to ask the guys where the elephant sleeps at night. They pointed to the sky. I'm not really sure what that meant, but I hope they weren't trucking the elephant up stairs to sleep in an apartment. To be honest with you, I don't think those men had any clue what we were saying, but Macaela felt better speaking her mind. We are all very confused because elephants are suppose to be very sacred in their culture, yet they really don't treat them nicely.

Kristin is sitting in front of the computer with her dictionary and thesaurus. Who brings a dictionary and thesaurus on vacation when you are limited on the amount of stuff you can carry? I will never understand that girl. FYI if you are reading her blogs, I am not that terrible at putting up my bug net! She is overexaggerating!

Hope all is well. I miss you peoples!

Love, Christina
Stine
Howie
Petu
Teena
Dolly
Christinita
Ms. Howard
(Choose what you prefer)







Advertisement



7th August 2008

Elephants in the city
Actually, the Asian elephant loves the city. Food is readilt availanle and it beats the hell out of working in the jungle. All that heat and humidity and pulling logs, come on!
7th August 2008

Yo Howwww!
Nope, no new nephew yet! Hopefully soon before i pull the thing out lol shes getting to be pretty annoying! Got the other new addition and they are doing great! haha! When do you come home again ... write that in ur blog ... we are trying to plan some stuff to get us all together and i wanna see if you will be back to take part! Your going to have like a bazillion emails from all of us lol! Keep Safe! P.S. you should have bought the bananas and threw them at those mean men! Poor lil elephants! :) xoxox love and miss you!
8th August 2008

Lunnie Linnie
Just a question, why is Scottie always wonderful and Linnie always the Lunnie? I think I give great advise. I never get any credit though.
8th August 2008

Lunnie Linnie
Because you're the mama... that's why!!!!!! Comes with the territory!
10th August 2008

Hey Monga
Yes I got a good job at George Mason and a nice apartment so my last day in Boston is September 12 and then i am moving that weekend. Keep having fun and I will see you when you get back. Love ya- Jona

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb