Loy Kratong ... last day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 7th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 18.8, 98.98

My turn for the breakfast run again today and as I am a bit earlier than usual there are still loads of monks wandering around collecting their morning alms on the streets.
It is 09:30 before we go out this mornig. We walk to Wararot market as there are a few things that Jai wants to take back with us that we either cant get in Phon Thong or are comparatively expensive there.
On our way ack we cross the moat and stop at Penguin Tours where a friend Lily works. She usually goes out to the bus station for us to buy our return bus tickets but this year they are very busy and she cant make it. Have to d it ourselves I suppose.
Back to Kong Court picking up some lunch along the way.
Yesterday I was told that Canadian friend Cliff was bussing into town today to catch up with a ew of us who are just passing through. On the way to the internet early afternoon I stop at B&B and find Cliff already there sat with a beer. Wife Tukta has come as well as her boss has given her the afternoon off. I try to phone Jai to tell her Tukta is here but her phone is turned off so I walk back to Kong Court to rouse her. I return to the internet for an hour knowing that Cliff will be there for the afternoon.
Internet finished I walk back to B&B and have a couple of beers with Cliff and a few others. Jai doesnt arrive until just as they are leaving but still gets a few minutes to catch up.
We get something to eat at the bar before I walk back to Kong Court for a shower and change for the night.
The procession of the big kratongs tonight goes on for a few hours and as impressive as they are its a bit same, same, ... Jai nips off with Max to sell a stack of big lanterns across the street and I settle down to watch the floats pass by. I take time out to go for walk down t the night market which is also surprisingly busy.
I return briefly to B&B but end up leaving Jai working and return to Kong Court on my own. Jai wakes me up about 45mins later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb