Wat Doi Suthep and Quad Riding


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 30th 2013
Published: October 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

I know that look anywhere, the slumped shoulders, the beat down, what the hell have I gotten myself into look. These 2 were not backpackers, oh no, I can spot them a mile away. You can even tell about how long they have been on the road by looking at them. I have seen a few the last couple of days that I would say are 10-11 months of a 12 month trip. The hair, the clothes the trinkets they wear. Now don’t get me wrong, I am not putting them down, if anything I am jealous. I am just saying, you can tell. No, these 2 were not backpackers, he was wearing a white polo shirt and kaki pants, she was wearing a nice blouse and capri style pants. They were sitting finishing lunch, and I was put 1 table away. Before I was even seated, I could tell, he was a gonner. It just showed in his face. I guess they are in their very early 20’s, but could pass for late teens. Maybe on their honeymoon, but this is not the area I would think that honeymooners would hang out, they would be at the bigger hotels, but what do I know. I can only hope this guy is not on a honeymoon. She was slumped down, gum chomping, that all too familiar scowl on her face, the kind of look that says “there is nothing on this earth you can do for me now that is going to make me happy,” Oh god, do I know that look. He started pointing at a map making suggestions of places they could walk to or visit, and nothing was good enough. She was tired by noon and as far as she is concerned the day is over for now. He finally folded the map up and with the look of defeat, he paid the bill and they started the walk back to the hotel. It was so real for me I almost got PTSD. I just wanted to jump out of that chair and grab this poor bastard and say “Wake Up”, run like the wind, don’t look back, be free, don’t stop until you can run no longer. I saw him head off, looking down, headed into his future, I will leave an offering at the next temple to you my brother.

Now folks, if that does not answer the why I prefer to travel alone question, then nothing will J

So to answer a couple of questions, first, to the best of my research the Chinese Steamed Buns are called Bao, and you add whatever filling is in the bun to the word, such as Char Siu Bao would be pork filled buns. Whatever you call them they are very good.

Also, someone asked how long the bus ride was from Chiang Rai to Chiang Mai, it was a little over 3 hours, which was not bad at all. Hated to waste such a short trip on business class service.

I love to sit and observe life in other countries, the little things just fascinate me. I will find a bench or just find a restaurant table by the sidewalk and just spend time soaking it all in. I saw a guy today, he was bigger guy for a Thai, but he was riding a pink and white little scooter that had Hello Kitty decals all over it. The only thing I can figure is his bike broke down and he is taking the ride of shame on his girlfriends bike. I was thinking it would be hell to work for OSHA and take a vacation here. People hanging off trucks, riding in a songthow and being inches from the pavement, or the bamboo scaffolding on a temple repair I saw today. I can only imagine they would not have a good time.

Speaking of songthows, they are trucks with covered bench seats open in the back that drive around town. You see them everywhere. I wanted to visit Wat Doi Suthep today and was told to take a red songthow and as soon as they had enough passengers they would head up the mountain. Where you see the most are riding the loop around the road that is the outside walls by the moat. There must be a hundred of them and one will pass you by every few seconds. These are Red and you must take a Red one up to Wat Doi Suthep, but sitting eating breakfast I would see the occasional yellow one and a brown one from time to time. Now to be honest I am not sure if I hopped on a red one where it would take me or how I would get back. Being here such a short time its not worth the trouble if you ask me. I do know there is a button in the back of the truck where you sit and when you want off, you push the button and get out and pay the driver. I am sure its an efficient system when you know what you are doing.

So this morning I hailed a songthow, told the driver I wanted to go to Wat Doi Suthep. My plan was to get there early before the big tour buses start arriving and the place becomes a madhouse. I could have the driver take me now, just me, for 400 baht ($13) so I decided to do just that. Time was more important to me than a few baht. It was a long and windy climb of about 20 to 25 minutes to get to the top of the mountain. Once there I was once again faced with the dreaded staircase from hell. The old monk geisers for some reason love to build Wats on top of big hills and have a 300 step staircases to get to the top. Oi Vey! So, off I climb, taking plenty of rest stops and finally reach the top. I will admit it’s a beautiful place for sure and the majestic view of Chaing Mai is (ooops, fogged in). It was misty raining this morning and I should have known the view would be of nothing but clouds. Oh well, that’s a part of travel. I worked my way downhill and went to meet back up with my driver. And there it was, a sign that I somehow missed, they have a cable car to the top. Are you kidding me! I guess in my research I seemed to miss that one. It had a separate entrance and as I am leaving 4 big buses of Chinese Tourist were being dumped off, so glad I came early. My legs are killing me now.

I found a Mexican Restaurant near my place called Miguels, so I had to try Mexican food in Thailand and I must say it was very good.

After lunch I had plans to visit a few more spots but during lunch it just hit me. It seems that I spend too much time sometimes seeing stuff and need to just do something off the wall, and I was ready for off the wall. I saw a thing for ATV riding so the lady called from my hotel and they had an opening in the afternoon slot. They picked me up and I was off. The pamphlet said it’s a 52 km, 3 or so hour ride on a quad. I found a helmet that fit and along with 3 others, we followed the guide into the mud and trails. First we climbed up this winding road up this mountain and just kept going and going. There are several times I wanted to stop and take a photo, but you have to follow the quad leader. He finally did pull over a couple of times and the scenery was just incredible. We finally got off road and drove by a couple of hilltribe villages, and played in the mud and dirt. My nephew Greg would have been proud of his Uncle Don. That poor machine drug me up all those hills and never gave out, and when it came time to head back, this fat boy went downhill like a bat out of hell. It was all I could do not to blow the quad leader off the road.

It was a lot of fun and glad I just said “what the hell”.

Lots of cool stuff tomorrow,

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



30th October 2013

Awesome blog!
I actually look forward to reding this blog every morning! Sounds like you had a great day. Thailand seems like a fantasy. No osha, cheap living, rain and fog, and lush landscapes. I would totally live there. I could get rich selling gold paint, selling street food, and renting quads! Unfortunately, the gun laws are too strict for farangs and there are too many stairs....crossing it off my list for now. Btw......the pics are great!
1st November 2013

Thanks, it makes the time I put into this worthwhile :)
31st October 2013

Pic 079
Looking good in your little helmet!! Love the little cheeks!!!!
1st November 2013

Sorta reminds me of the Dope on a Mope pic from Cambodia

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb