The Road to Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 29th 2013
Published: October 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

One thing I forgot to mention yesterday, and this would only interest my RN friends. I was walking past the Overbrook Hospital in Chiang Rai yesterday when a couple of nurses were hurrying into the building. I so wanted to stop them and ask for a picture but they were moving too fast. They had on these very light lavender colored uniforms with the old style Nursing Hat to match. It was like seeing a hospital in the US back 30 years ago. I know you would have loved to see that and I just kick myself for not being able to get a pic. I just tried to picture Christine K in that uniform with her little hat – too funny. Whenever I mention to anyone here I am a nurse, they just giggle since only women are nurses here I guess.

Today was travel day and I was so anticipating another bus trip. I arrived at the station, ticket in hand and went to the appropriate ramp number and soon the Bus arrived. It was as advertised, very nice. In fact, it just blew me away. Most buses have the usual aisle with 2 seats on each side, this bus had 1 seat on the left and 2 on the right, so they were extra wide seats. It was like flying in business class. The bus steward met you at the door and took you to your seat. There was a TV monitor in the back of the seat on front, just like on an airplane with a touch screen for music, movies or games. There was a game controller in the seat back. When your seat reclined a foot rest came up like a lazyboy. Once the bus left, the steward went around and passed out a snack and a cold bottle of water. This is just too good to be true. I kept waiting on the shoe to drop. But alas, it was perfect.

The scenery on the drive was so nice. About 2/3 of the trip was up and down winding road around the mountains. The other part was 1 small town after another and plenty of green rice fields. I was trying to read but gave up as I just did not want to miss a thing. I so enjoyed the trip.

As we were getting close to Chiang Mai, all I could think about was my family and friends were at home waiting on a good bus story, something dramatic. I found myself saying come one, give me something here, let a wheel fall off, anything, I am dying here. I guess the big story is that there is no story. The jinx is lifted, life is back to normal.

After arriving in Chiang Mai, got a cab to my Guesthouse, which once again is down a nice quiet little soi with plenty of restaurants, places to get your laundry done, tour shops, tattoo places and of course massage. I am gathering this is a big backpacker area, since the tattoo shops go where they go. I checked in and went up the first floor to my room which is room 19, which conveniently sits between room 12 and 14. I was scratching my head too. But it has a balcony that overlooks the street which is nice. I hope this did not used to be room 13 and they changed the number, Not that I am believe in that or anything. I put my bags down and went to the bathroom to take care of business and as I enter the bathroom there is a naked lady picture on the wall. Hmmm, ok, I immediately thought it was a poster left by the previous occupant that did not get removed, but upon closer inspection, its actually made up of tiles, like on purpose, like supposed to be there. Then I noticed the mirror was in the shape of a heart. I decided that I did not need to go that bad and went to investigate the rest of the room. First thing I checked for was a coin machine by the bed that would make it shake, thank goodness it was not there and there was not a bowl of condoms on the dresser. Nothing else in the room would give a clue as to why there is a naked lady in my bathroom. Now don’t get me wrong, she is a very attractive lady, but its just too bizarre. Then I got thought that this might be a swingers hotel, if so when I head down to the lobby there will be a lot of people checking out. When I checked in, I found out the place is owned by a man from New Zealand and his Thai wife. The wife checked me in and she was as sweet as could be, so I am dismissing this part for now. I guess my mission is to find out what that is all about before I leave.

Who needs a good bus story when you have a naked lady tiled into your bathroom. J

After finally using the facility, I took off and explored the area as I am known to do. I like to get a feel for where the hotel is located and what is in the area. I found some good breakfast places and feel confident I can get back no matter which direction I head off in. The City of Chiang Mai is very old and the ancient part was actually guarded by a big wall and surrounded by a moat over a century ago. The old moat and part of the outer wall still exist today and if you stay inside the moat area you are considered to be in the old part of the city (duh). My place is in the Northeast corner of the old city not too far from the wall. There are 4 roads that cross the moat into the old city and they are the site of the original gates and are in the middle of the North, South, East and West wall. If you see it on a map it makes good sense.

I think tonight I am going to head to the famous Chiang Mai Night Market and see what goodies I can sample there. Then tomorrow I have a couple of places on my must see list that I will get done early. Just looking at my plans, looks like 4 days here should get what I want done, but who knows, may take a 5th day and take my time. Still have not decided for sure where I want to head next, but its too early to be thinking about that.

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



30th October 2013

sooooooo, you can poopoo with LingLing!!!
30th October 2013

Kinda gives a whole new meaning to a happy ending - lol
30th October 2013

wall tiles
Might be a good idea to remove that pic.
30th October 2013

Will do mom

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb