Last Day in Chiang Rai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
October 28th 2013
Published: October 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

I slept in a bit this morning which was nice, woke up about 5, but went back to sleep and slept until 8:30. I hate to admit it, but traveling is hard on this 56 year old body. Yesterday was lots of walking and stair climbing, and it catches up to me.

After my toast and coffee, I stopped at the front desk and the owner gave me a nice walking map of things to see that I have not seen up to now. And walk I did, for at least 4 1/2 hours with a few stops along the way of course. First stop was the bus station which was very close thank goodness. I bought my ticket on the VIP bus to Chiang Mai for 0900 tomorrow. Now those of you that have followed my blogs over the past 6 years know that bus travel has not been kind to me over the years. The ultimate being on the squat stool in the aisle of a bus with my knees almost to my chin on my way from Sihanoukville to Phnom Penh Cambodia, good times for sure. I inquired about the BEST bus in this case and told to take the VIP Green Bus to Chiang Mai. When I walked into the bus station this old black smoke belching bus pulled in and I hoped that is not their version of VIP – lol. Inside there was the big Green Bus counter and a time schedule for different places and decided on the 0900 to Chiang Mai. There were 2 classes, VIP and some X one which I cannot remember. The VIP ticket was 180 baht ($6), what a deal. Kinda scares me a bit, seems too cheap, but we will see. Picked a window seat and it was fast and easy. As I was leaving this really nice Green and White bus pulled in and I am confident that is what I will be riding on. I am due for at least one good bus experience.

After leaving the station I started my walk using the map as a guide and it was fun. I was still a bit hungry and found this place with these bun looking things (see the pic) and they came filled with pumpkin crème or chocolate cream or blueberry cream, and so on. The also had savory types filled with chicken, pork and some others fillings I have never heard of. I bought 1 pumpkin cream for 10 baht (30 cents) and she steamed it for about 3 minutes. It was so good. I bought a corn crème and chocolate crème also. They are like Chinese style dumpling made of bread with the filling inside. So good!!

Visited several Temples and stopped in various shops to check things out. Strolled through the market area and that place was a madhouse to say the least. I love the market! This lady was grilling these small sausages and had to sample those. They had a kick to them but just so delicious. Yesterday on my day trip I was traveling with 4 young people, 2 from Austria, 1 from London and a girl from Lisbon, Portugal. The girl from Portugal stated if you have seen one temple you have seen them all. I disagree, I think they each have their own distinct feel and I love wandering through them all.

After about 4 ½ hours, my dogs were barking in the worst way. I hailed a tuk tuk and had him take me to the Central Plaza Mall. Now this place was nice. They have lots of these Central Plaza malls around Thailand, and when your town gets one you have made it. Inside is just as nice as any US mall for sure. They also have a Tops Market which if you retire here it’s the US version of a grocery store where you can get all the things that are not available otherwise, like Cereal, Milk, BBQ Sauce, Catsup, etc, the same brands you see in the US. Of course it’s a bit more expensive. But if you are a homesick American it has lots of items you can use to make some comfort food. They even have a Cinema Multiplex, and a couple of the movies were in English. Nice!

Had a question about my room, well, I usually stay in Guest Houses. The Thai family that runs this place is really nice. I am gathering it’s the dad that owns the place and his son or daughter and spouse help out a lot. They have a small child that hangs out in the lobby a lot, very cute. But my room has A/C, hot water, a small refrigerator, a balcony and its only $23 a night. Sorry, that is a good deal anywhere. Its on the 3rd floor so you have to negotiate some stairs, but no big deal. If you are challenged they have rooms on the first floor. This place is on a very quiet soi off the main drag and sleeping is no problem.

Near my hotel I saw a sign at an Italian place that stated their Pizzas are cooked in a wood burning oven. After visiting Italy, that’s the only way to go. To end my night I decided to give it a go. Had a prosciutto pizza and it was OK, they just cannot replicate the crust you get in Naples.

Off to Chiang Mai tomorrow!

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



28th October 2013

food
Every time I read this blog, I get sooooo hungry! What were those dumplings with the cream inside called? Lemme know if you find out. I want to make them.
29th October 2013

They were so delicious, but the sign was in Thai and the girl did not speak English, so I have no clue, but will find out.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb