Bamboo Rafting and Elephant Riding


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 31st 2013
Published: November 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

Sorry I am a little late posting this, did not get back until about 11 last night and was just not up to it. So, had a full breakfast this am and getting it done.

It was a busy day, decided to do another day trip of River rafting, Elephant riding and walking some more. Spent the last part of the night visiting with a bloke from Australia who lives here, more to come on that later.

Picked up in the morning and headed for the river, when we got there we were loaded on these bamboo rafts and went down this muddy river. The scenery was really nice so who paid any attention to the water. The sun came out just as we started and for the first time during this trip it was not cloudy. I am hoping that like my trip to Cambodia last year, the first day of sunshine signaled the end of the monsoon season. So being the end of rainy season, the river very high and it was moving really well. We kept noticing these round mud ball looking things floating by and later realized we were downstream from the elephants crossing the river and it was elephant poo. So, no swimming on this trip.

We were dropped off and driven to the elephant camp area and got to get up close and personal with the elephants. Fed them bananas and sugar cane and had one pick me up with its trunk, which would have made for a good caption this photo pic, but the Chinese girl who took my picture did not get a very good shot. Their trunks are amazing, they are like an arm, and can pick up just about anything. The elephants then did a show, where the kicked soccer balls at a goal, sounds lame but they are very good. They even had 2 elephants do a painting which was very cool, and you could buy the painting on your way out, but at $50, did not want it that bad. One of those things that I may kick myself for later. After the show had lunch and then went for the elephant ride. Those things are slow, and the ride is not smooth at all, but for climbing a steep hill and crossing the river, they are the ultimate 4 wheel drive for sure. On the way back stopped by an orchid farm (yawn), one of the downfalls of taking these trips, but all in all it was a very fun trip.

After I got back, I showered and headed out to find food. Found this Chinese place and ordered noodles with crispy pork and vegies. It was sooooo good, I must eat here again before I leave, of course I have said that about so much I would have to stay here a month. Hmmmm! Also had this coconut pudding and the total was $4. I love this place.

Right by my guest house there is a lady set up selling fruit smoothies. Got a Kiwi and banana smoothie and sat down. Started talking to this Aussie fellow who lives here and we spent an hour talking about retiring here. He is going to show me his apartment building and a couple close by where he lives later today to show what you get for your money. Pics to come.

So today is going to be chill day. You run for so many days, its nice to just relax a bit, after all, I am on vacation. My Aussie friend is meeting me about 3 pm at the Central Plaza Mall. I need to pick up a few supplies so told him to meet me there as its close to where he lives.

Speaking of supplies, its with deepest regret that I must inform you of the passing of a long time traveling companion. I bought this before my first trip to Thailand in 2007, and it has seen me through countless early wakeup calls for buses, planes, boats, whatever, 3 continents, 13 countries and never once let me down. Seems its early demise is a result of me reaching to turn on the light and a knocked my faithful alarm clock across the tile floor, where it bounced numerous times and now when you look at the digital time it only reads Chinese looking characters. I will leave it in Chiang Mai as a momento, and I don't need to be dragging something that's broke around with me.

BTW, while I was out eating last night I saw this couple dressed up in Devil costumes. I had forgotten yesterday was Halloween. Now mind you this does not exist in Thailand, so lets just say the Thais were giving this couple a wide berth, and all things came to a stop when they strolled by. I can only imagine what they were thinking. They cam walking out of the eatery next to where I was and they tried to hail a tuktuk, but when the tuktuk slowed down to pick them up, when the driver saw how they were dressed he gunned it and went on his way. They did get the next one to stop but one can only imagine the story for his family when he gets home. I have no idea why they were dressed up unless they were going to a farang party.

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



1st November 2013

Orchids
Love these - wish you could bring one home (ha). The elephant pics were cute. Can't believe they were painted by elephants. Have fun. Mom
2nd November 2013

The elephant painting was one of my fav parts of the show. You should have seen how small the baby elephant was that did the one painting

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb