Chaiyaphum


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Khon Kaen
April 12th 2009
Published: April 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saying Goodbye to ThaManaoSaying Goodbye to ThaManaoSaying Goodbye to ThaManao

Each villager ties a string on your wrist so your spirit travels with you. Must stay on 3 days
IT'S OFFICIAL; I’m a real Peace Corps Volunteer. Well OK, I haven’t done anything worthwhile yet except to stop and talk to everyone along my bike route. They’re probably laughing more then usual and if I’m the cause of that humor, so be it. I arrived in Tombon, Ponethrong, Changwat, Chaiyaphum, Thursday evening. My house was cleaned and ready for me. I feel like a princess…I not only have a queen size bed (yes a real bed with a frame) but a shower with hot water and a western toilet. Of course the toilet doesn’t flush, but it’s nice to sit on anyway.

I've kind'a gotten carried away with my photos today. There's been so much going on that I can't possibly tell it all in text. Yes, sometimes a picture is worth a 1000 words sometimes not. Even then, it's just not possible to explain all I've seen and experienced. To explain the Thai people is an impossible task even for a Thai. Because of their culture and religious beliefs they often don't let you know who they are....frangs (any westerner) will be 'Geng yai' to death. This means you will be treated with respect and courtesy but never
Over 50 groupOver 50 groupOver 50 group

OK, over 60 group. Toasting Bob for the wine he sent!
know if you are liked or whether you've made anyone angry. If you give a Thai a present, they will not open it in front of you and you might never see it again. They will touch you on the arm or leg often but not hug you and will show very little emotion. They'll slap their children but love them intensely and seldom shower them with affection. They'll give you the food off their plates but laugh if you've hurt yourself. Even so they are a cultural in transition. More later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Good Life in ThaiGood Life in Thai
Good Life in Thai

We spent the day at a resort outside Chaibadan..cost us 50 baht to use the pool all day ($1.75)
Our last dinner togetherOur last dinner together
Our last dinner together

We're all off to different destinations in Thailand. I'll miss them.
MushroomsMushrooms
Mushrooms

I'd like to try to start a mushroom farm
More MushroomsMore Mushrooms
More Mushrooms

These are growing off of potatoes stuffed in plastic bags....cool
Hello to my CounterpartHello to my Counterpart
Hello to my Counterpart

Lek is standing next to me and will be my counterpart in Ponethrong
Local colorLocal color
Local color

I stopped to talk to this woman who was cutting leaves from this tree. I ended up taking some leaves home and stir frying them....yuummmm
SoiSoi
Soi

small road going to hwy
Farm VehicleFarm Vehicle
Farm Vehicle

They are very colorful
My HouseMy House
My House

Pretty Sweet!
Local Gas StationLocal Gas Station
Local Gas Station

Check it out


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb