Almost there!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My Thai FamilyMy Thai FamilyMy Thai Family

OK, so Pat on the left is American! She's another volunteer
I’m almost there… I can see the flags waving me on at the finish line. The final week of training is coming to an end and I couldn’t be happier. The Competency test was taken today and the language this past Saturday. I actually passed and can now ask for directions to the bathroom! These have truly been the toughest two months I’ve experienced in years and if I had to do it over, I would think long and hard.

There have been some very bright and beautiful spots on the horizon and those are what have kept me motivated. You will see them here in the faces of some of the people I’ve come to love. Jakkit and his family have so little when it comes to material wealth yet they share every meal with anyone who stands at their door. He is slowly going blind from diabetes and is unable to work but his Buddhist faith carries him through without any anger or remorse. The karma that surrounds him is felt by all that know him.

Most of the pictures you see here were taken last week on a day trip to Lop Buri. Originally built by
Phra Prang Sam YotPhra Prang Sam YotPhra Prang Sam Yot

13-14th century AD Buddhist monument
the Khmer between the 9th and 11th centuries AD, it was reclaimed by Siam (now Thailand) in the 16th century. This area became the royal palace of King Narai and the second capital outside of Ayutthaya. There is a mix of European and Khmer architecture. You will also notice the monkeys. There's about a two block area where these monkeys reside and they are quite wild. One needs to be extremely cautious when walking under trees and power lines...it's quite possible to get very wet, if you understand what I mean! There are thousands of the little guys and gals and I've wondered about over population. The citizens of Lop Buri don't seem to care but I have noticed their choice of weapon when the critters become too much for them...slingshots.

Wednesday, the 9th of April is a big day. I will be formally invited to become a Peace Corps Volunteer. A big ceremony is planned and some important guests will include the Ambassador from the United States, the Country Director and the Governor of Lop Buri Province. An exciting week is ahead and I will let all know how it plays out.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb