First day in Ubon


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Eastern Thailand » Ubon Ratchathani
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!
Im sitting in the public library computer room(its right next to my house)...and theres a monk just behind me! Ubon Ratchathani is fab much nicer than Bangkok. Our first day here was mad, the train was 2 hours late getting in and when we got off all the hosts went crazy taking millions of photos. Em and I's hosts is called Ajharn Chiansa she speaks English really well so communicating hasnt been too difficult. On the first day we went straight out for breakfast and then they took us to visit our accomodation which is really nice! It isn't as big as we thought as we can only use the downstairs and we are sharing a bedroom - but we have too bathrooms and there is still plenty room for the other volunteers to stay. At lunch time we had a tour around the school, which is rather large and seems very well equipt. Last night we stayed at our hosts house. She doesnt speak very good english at all - but is very kind. She bought Emily and I a yellow shirt (which make us look like blokes!) to wear at sports day. In Thailand loads of people wear yellow shirts as a sign of respect to the king - they have the royal symbol on them.

Today is sports day - Thai sports day is alot different to sports day in England as it seems that all they do is dance and screem all day long. We have been into the centre of Ubon 2day...it seems you can get anything you need here, there are 3 stationary shops! Em and I have set up a Thai bank account 2day for all our bahts. Im not sure what we are doing 2moro but later on we are going to Tesco - believe it not our host wants to take us there to get all our tolietries etc.Im really looking forward to starting teaching - the Thai have really poor pronunciation. We are starting teaching on Monday as our post report was wrong.

Hope all is well at home!
Love you all kate/ Katalea(my Thai name) xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



2nd September 2006

Hello!!
Hi Kate, just read ur first two blogs. Sounds like you are having a fab time already. I am loving the shirts:) Glad to hear going to another country hasn't put a stop to your drinking habits lol. I am trying to figure out how you subscribe to the site atm... I'll work it out eventually. Weather in the UK is crap this morning, hope you have lots of sunshine in Thailand. Take Care Have fun on Monday. Hope the teaching kit I bought you comes in handy when you start at the school. Speak Soon Love Andrew xxxx
2nd September 2006

I'm not sure whether my first comment has worked or not? Hope it has. Was trying to figure out how you subscribed then I realised you click on the massive link which says subscribe :s I'm getting a bit slow in my old age. Love from Andrew xxxx
2nd September 2006

Hey, soz it took me so long to sign up (step told me off!!!). Seems like ur having a good time. Went to firestation last night, everyone was asking after you. speak soon love leila xxx
3rd September 2006

Hey Hun - Yes I've sent you a private message too - I'm not very quick with computers! - I'll just say it all again so I can be on your message board :) As Jane said - sounds like you're having an amazing time - and It's fab being able to see you out there - well, other than those jazzy shirts - only you could pull that off! lol I've just sent you a ten page email - all the gossip's on there :P - where no one else can read it ;) I can't believe Stephen beat me in getting the first comment on here! - lol, I am a bit late - but my emails are the best ! lol Can't wait to see the next snaps - Love you heeps - Lisa X

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb