Boxing Day/ 3 Years Ago


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Eastern Thailand » Ubon Ratchathani
December 26th 2007
Published: December 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes it is Boxing Day in AUS and exactly 3 years ago in this exact place there was a tsunami on the west coast of Thailand. We just happened to be at the eastern most point of Thailand! Haha.

I remember because we were at the restaurant next door this ‘resort’ (it consists of 8 cabins and they call it a resort!?) and these 2 Frenchies came up to us panicking and told us there was a tsunami the an AUS couple came by and told us the same thing. We Didn’t realise the extent till we went back to the ‘resort’ and turned the TV on, although it was in Thai, it was very scary as we were here for the aftermath, the country was in disarray, it was HUGE here. My mum even refused to let us go to Koh Samet just in case there was another one (we are going there this trip) haha I remember going to this dodgy beach and Kristina and I running out to mum yelling tsunami, tsunami, haha it was funny… it’s weird because you have a story to tell. The trip before that (2001-2002) it was just after September 11 and
DadDadDad

Always very photo-genic
people travelling on planes was very low, people were scared of another terrorist attack, people told us to cancel our trip, but of course we didn’t .

I dunno, it’s weird reminiscing about stuff like that. Even stuff like, I cant believe the year is almost over! It’s hard to explain but im kinda scared, who knows what’s going to happen next year, what’s in store for us. Another year, another year older, I don’t know if I like that…

So this morning we left Ubon (oh! The hotel was playing Christmas carols still!!! Bah!) And we mini-bused it to a place called Khong Chiam, we came here last trip and dad loves it here. It’s right on the Mekong River and if I look out of my room I can see the river, it’s really nice. Well the rivers full of god know what, but its nice.

We also went on this boat kinda thing and we went over to Laos and went to a market. I bought a few things for a good price, even something for Sarah .

It’s nice travelling with the parents; they pay for stuff, haha.

We had dinner on the river, it’s called a floating restaurant, it was ok, and everyone else seemed to love it.

Feel free to leave a message! It’s really good to hear from you guys. I know your probably all busy and stuff but its nice wen I get a msg or an email or and sms, its good to hear from you guys, its weird I know but im all the way over here and its occasionally nice to know that your still alive. Anyway might go to bed now,

Adios
Sophia



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

SunsetSunset
Sunset

Over the Mekong


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb