Almost a sunrise to start the day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
February 7th 2010
Published: February 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I was going to get up early for the sunrise, but when the alarm went off, I said to hell with it, and went back to bed. By 6:30 the dogs in the area decided it was time to either fight or start choir practice so I got up anyway.

I went down to the water and did see the last bits of pink in the sky. Also, the water came in farther inshore that I had guessed it would--there was very little beach to walk on! There was almost no one out except for me, a few Thais, and one guy who did get up for the sunrise with his camera and tripod.

I went back to bed around 7:30 and didn't get up until 10. We ate and hit the beach. I tried reading the book I bought at the used book store in Bangkok but it's not a beach read. It was wrapped in plastic (all books here are) so I couldn't peruse it before I bought it. It's in British English, and in many cases, somewhat older English. I'm having trouble getting into the plot because it's not moving at all. The author introduced too many characters at once and I'm having trouble keeping track of them. Really, is it necessary to list off 15 people in the span of about 7 pages? I think not.

So today I got a bit too much sun. I had lathered on the SPF 60 sunscreen but I apparently missed a few spots. My flip-flops rubbed off the sunscreen so I have red V's on my feet, too.

We decided not to change hotels, thankfully. I understand the desire for more excitement, but I'm really enjoying relaxing on the beach. I like that it's not all crazy and chaotic. I left China this vacation for a reason! I suspect we'll make our way to the "fun beach" tomorrow night.

Enjoyed another delicious dinner... though I'm not sure what it was exactly. It was called "Thai noodles in gravy." Julie and Margot both opted for the more elaborate platters of food with corn on the cob, baked potatoes, and kebabs. But money is a bit tight (the shopping in Bangkok for clothes threw me off) so spending twice as much on my dinner just didn't seem like the best plan for me. But I am using all the clothes!

Relaxing early in my room tonight. It will feel good to sleep and read the trashy Cosmo magazine Julie brought from Korea. A good, mindless evening.

Maybe I'll make it to the sunrise tomorrow...



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb