Arrived--I love beach life


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
February 6th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Upon arrival we made our way to the station with information about lodging. A nice ladyboy was as helpful as can be with our quest. Why we hadn't booked ahead I'm not sure of, but finding a place within our budget for a weekend was a bit difficult. We finally picked a place that cost a bit more than we wanted, figuring we could find a cheaper place in a few days and get a change of scenery out of the deal. Off to our guest house we rode in the typical island taxi: the back of a green pick-up truck.

At the guest house we ended up not with one room, but two, because the only thing they said they had for 3 people only had one large bed in it. They were confused by why we didn't all want to sleep in one bed. Luckily, the cost of our bungalows was cheaper than expected and the cost actually in the range we wanted! I ended up alone while Julie and Margot shared, which I'm fine with. I'll enjoy having a large bed to myself.


The water here is a color I've only dreamt about. It's blue is slightly green and just goes on forever. I've already played in the ocean and now I'm squishing perfect white sand between my toes. This is the life! I don't think I will want to leave.


Had shrimp with chilis for dinner with a coconut drink. Then we got banana pancakes from a cart on the beach. This was the best meal yet!

We made friends with a guy who works and lives here. We played cards late into the night. I enjoyed watching the ocean roll in and out in the moonlight.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

CrabCrab
Crab

The beach was full of these little guys, less than 1 centimeter in size. They would scurry and hide whenever anyone approached.
Dinner optionsDinner options
Dinner options

You name it, they got it. And it's all fresh. And it's all on the beach.
The entertainmentThe entertainment
The entertainment

A fire twirler and then fireworks. Every night.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb