Off I go ...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 3rd 2016
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 13.7308, 100.521

There have been too many of these 'goodbye' days over the last couple of years but here we go with another one.Wake at 05:00 with the alarm for an early cuppa in bed. Get some breakfast before a last check of bags and paperwork.My leaving seems to have turned into a family excursion as when my 'taxi' arrives Jai's nephew is driving with his wife Boo and daughter Kanom along for the ride. Then Jai's sister Begat comes to ask if she can come as well and the six of us set off out of Khamnadie about 06:40.We arrive at Roi Et airport about 07:40 just in time for Kanom to enjoy watching the NokAir departure for Bangkok take off. She wants to stay and watch me go but I have another hour before I leave. Say my goodbyes - 'see you next year' sounds such a long time off - then wave the car off. Sit down and wait for my plane to arrive.It is only a few years ago when we were lucky if there was a single flight a week from here to Bangkok whereas today there seems to be 6 scheduled. Also the flight used to be a small propeller job of some 15ish people but now they are airbus' with about 220 on my flight.Air Asia arrives and departs on time on what has turned out to be another lovely day - weather wise at least !The flight schedule means that we always arrive in Bangkok 15mins early which they always brag about on landing. I collect my bag, get a taxi and am shortly en-route into Bangkok on fairly quiet roads which is a pleasant change.Check-in to my room at New Siam I Guest House then nip out for a drink and snack from 7/11.At 11:40, 24 hours prior to my flight, I am sat at the internet waiting to complete my check-in and choose a seat.I go for a walk around the Khao San Road area which is surprisingly quiet. Lunch at hotel then back up to my room for a lazy afternoon watching a movie as I cant face walking around getting all sweaty in the high humidity.Late afternoon I phone mum and sister Pam back in Gloucester to let them know I am on the move and in Bangkok.By 16:00 I can hear thunder starting up and a quick look out the window shows that it is chucking it down.The rain eases a little later on so I go out to get something to eat. Was planning on an early beer but it just isn't nice enough to be sat outside so I get a coffee from 7/11 and head back to my room to watch another movie instead.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb