'Thai Time'


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 2nd 2012
Published: November 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

There is a saying that we backpackers have throughout SouthEast Asia and that is that everything runs on 'Thai Time', 'Laos Time' etc, in other words, slow, very slow.

Rush hour in Bangkok is not an hour! You can literally sit in traffic for 1 hour and not even cover a mile!

You can order 3 meals, and everyone will receive their food at a different time, eating 'together' is not an option.

They do not rush, they do not get stressed, they do not get road rage, they do not get annoyed or frustrated, they just chill....and there is NOTHING wrong with that! I saw a car crash today and both parties just got out inspected their vehicles, took a few photos and continued on with their journeys...No agression, no nothing, just a smile and move on.

Yesterday I visited Siam Discovery, a mall with stores not that dis-similar to say the Trafford Centre. I managed to find a book to replace the one I have just finished, which was lucky as firstly, the book exchange in the hostel had nothing that intertested me and secondly, I'm leaving for Phuket and the Islands again on Sunday
so I'll need a good book for the beach! Thats about the extent of the stress here!

It’s been almost eight years since the December 26 tsunami devastated Phuket and the surrounding areas so It will be interesting to see how it has recovered from the disaster.

The weather in Bangkok is still very hot and humid but the air con in cafes, shops, the hostel and on the skytrain is a welcomed relief.

I spent the morning at the park, partaking in Thai Chi (with the locals, I might add) and then breakfast, pancakes with maple syrup. I had a trip to the post office to send home some gifts for the big 'C' - Christmas, you'd never know it, it's not widely celebrated here and there is little sign of it nearing...I also posted some Christmas cards, I know it's early but postcards take weeks upon weeks to arrive, if they arrive at all. The postage cost more that the cost of the gifts, but as long as they arrive, in one piece I'm happy!

I'm back to a dorm full of lads as the girl from Vancouver is leaving today and last night
we had one of them snoring, all night! Arrgh, definitely my pet hate! Hence the reason I was awake early.

I've had lunch in Silom Galleria at a small Inidan place. Chicken Curry and Biryiani Rice, It was spicy, certainly cleared my airways and then I stopped at a street food stall to get 2 bags of fruit (Pineapple and Melon) just 20Baht! It was so fresh and tasty. I love street food! I also found a mini market last night so I have stocked up on Bananas, raisins and nuts. (good for bus journeys!)

I don't have any plans for tomorrow yet aside from having a quick look to see what sort of accommodation is in Phuket. I think I will stay on either Karon or Kate beach as I've heard they are the best two.

I've really settled into Bangkok and can navigate the city and disricts well, I especially like, Silom and Siam. The skytrains are a very easy, cheap and convenient way to get around parts of the city and if all else fails there are always Tuk Tuks and Taxis (though you have to be careful, most drivers wont use the meter)

Street food here is amazing and cheap and ranges from pad Thai (for around 30baht) to meat/fish on sticks (for like 5baht) Smoothies and Thai Iced tea of various flavours, plus bags of fruit and sweet dough like desserts.

Some restaurants are reasonably priced too but eating street food, on the side of the road, is a much better experience, as they say, 'when in Rome'

So as I said, I've done very little but enjoy my time back in the city and just catch up on laundry and prepare for my onward trip.

Nearly 3 months in and I haven't looked back once. That must be a sign that travelling suits me, and, most importantly I'm HAPPY.

Love to all xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb