Last day in Bangkok - how many times have I said that! Haha :-)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 4th 2012
Published: November 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This is oficially my last day in Bangkok, well I've said that a few times, I know and this is my 3rd visit to the city, but I'm not sure if I will be returning on this trip...

The pick up is between 5 & 5.30pm tonight to take me to Phuket via Surat. I'm made a reservation at Pineapple Guesthouse, located at Karon Plaza, Karon beach, Phuket.

Karon Beach is 3 miles of fine white sand that apparantly squeaks when you walk on it. It is the second largest of Phuket's tourist beaches and is around 20km from Phuket town

At the north end, in front of the lake, the beach is supposed to be deserted.

Sea turtles are occasional nocturnal visitors, laying their eggs in the sand at night time.

In the Northeast monsoon season (November to April) there are very few waves and the water becomes crystal clear, which is why it's the PERFECT time for my visit!!

I'm on 'wake up call' duty at 11am for the lad in the bunk below me, he was out until 6am this morning and is checking out today with me at 12 noon. I'm still trying to fathom his logic though. He has a flight tomorrow at 7am, so to save on tonights accommodation cost and in an attempt to free up some cash he is sleeping at the airport tonight. He still managed a big night out last night though?! That's Somerset logic for you. :-)

Just got back from the 7/11 with breakfast; a banana, a croissant and a yoghurt, plus a dutch mill shake (30p!!)

I'll pop to the supermarket later to stock up on snacks for the bus journey and I've put a wash on, so will get my clothes washed and dried hopefully before check out!

I promise more photos will appear once I get to phuket. Bangkok isn't the most photogenic city and especially not Silom or when I'm not sightseeing. I've really enjoyed my timje back in the City again though. It's like a magnet, it draws you in. There is just something about this place.

From Phuket i'm heading to Koh Phi Phi Island, much of which On 26 December 2004 was devastated by the Indian Ocean Tsunami. Shortly after 10am on the morning of 26 December, the water from both bays receded. When the tsunami hit, at 10.37am, it did so from both bays. The wave that came into Ton Sai Bay was 10ft high. The wave that came into Loh Dalum Bay was 18ft high. At the time of the tsunami, the island had an estimated 10,000 occupants, including tourists.

After the tsunami, approximately 70% of the buildings on the island had been destroyed. By the end of July 2005, an estimated 850 bodies had been recovered, and an estimated 1,200 people were still missing. The total number of fatalities is unlikely to be known however local tour guides cite the figure of 4,000. Of Phi Phi Don residents, 104 surviving children had lost one or both parents.

Phi Phi weather is tropical - there are only two seasons. Temperatures during the year average 25°C to 32°C

From Phi Phi I am doing an overnight camping tour on Maya Bay (Those of you who have seen the film THE BEACH, with Leonardo DiCaprio will know Maya Bay well)

Maya Bay is a stunningly beautiful bay that's sheltered by 100metre high cliffs on three sides. Inside the bay there are several beaches, most are small and some only exist at low tide. The main one is around 200 metres long with silky soft white sand, underwater colourful coral and exotic fish in exceptionally clear water; the whole bay is one big reef

The tour leaves Phi Phi in the afternoon and you stop off at viking Caves and can snorkel. before sunset you get to jump off the boat and swim, kayak or take a long tail boat to the shore. We have an evening BBQ on the beach and a moonlight swim in Maya Bay, experiencing the bio-luminescent plankton. Then we sleep under the starlit skies where shooting stars are plentiful!

I can't wait!

Well, that's my news for now

Love to all xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb