The arrival


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 13th 2006
Published: July 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This blog will be one for the ages, but be patient, its coming


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Out and AboutOut and About
Out and About

One of the memorable momments of my night that truely never ended. A few folks I met with some of the local street venders. Thats right, the local kids out well past 2am still trying to sell us candy and flowers.
Ko Sahn RoadKo Sahn Road
Ko Sahn Road

Infamous for its energy, street vendors, and just total chaos, this is a shot of Ko Sahn road during the day. I stayed right in the middle for two nights. Last time i'll ever do that.
First Tuk TukFirst Tuk Tuk
First Tuk Tuk

My first tuk tuk ride ever. If you have ever driven on the streets of bangkok then you can understand the facial expression. Really that scary.
Night time chaosNight time chaos
Night time chaos

You already have seen Ko Sahn in the day. Here it is at night. The place really comes alive with all sorts of lights, ladyboys, dancing.... the lot.
Big BuddhaBig Buddha
Big Buddha

Its just a really big buddha with me standing in front of it. I mean its a really really big buddha.
BucketsBuckets
Buckets

One part whisky, one part coke, one part red bull, a bucket and a few straws and you have one of the most popular type drinks in thailand. This was my first and last, well maybe not last but definately first.
Thumbs UpThumbs Up
Thumbs Up

This little girl dominated me in a thumb war and as a result I had to buy whatever it was she was selling. Well worth the story.
Earth to MatildaEarth to Matilda
Earth to Matilda

Two lovely girls I met along the way. Here we are with our make shift mobile phones.
Bugs for LunchBugs for Lunch
Bugs for Lunch

Not exactly lunch time, but that title was for you dad. These bug carts rolled around the streets of bangkok selling crickets, magots, scorpions, etc...
YummYumm
Yumm

Really not that bad. Fried and salted, I quite enjoyed the taste of these little critters. I finished the entire bag.
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

I needed to document that I in fact stayed out all night to see the sun come up. So you saw Ko Sahn during the day, at night, and now at sunrise the next morning. How I managed to make it through the whole of the night is beyond me. Maybe it was the buckets.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb