1 More Night in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 13th 2006
Published: July 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Khao San RoadWelcome to Khao San RoadWelcome to Khao San Road

It really is as insane as it looks.
I got up early this morning, had my free breakfast at the hotel and walked to Khao San Road. Oh my god, it is hot! It is like being in a sauna 24 hours a day. Sometimes it's difficult to breathe but as long as I keep hydrated (3-4 bottles of water just this afternoon!) I seem to be handling it okay. The whole way here (about ten minutes) I was accosted left and right by taxi drivers, vendors, etc, everyone asking me if I need help or a hotel or whatnot. Clearly they are getting some kind of commission for directing people to certain hotels, etc. I managed to avoid all of it and found my way here pretty easily with the use of a map I grabbed at the hotel. On the way here, a woman crossing the street with me asked me where I'm from. Turns out she is from Laos and she was very excited for me to go there. That was really nice. Also last night, a young Thai schoolgirl offered to share her umbrella with me when I got caught in the rain. That made my whole night.

This city is intense. The only
Opposite End of Khao San RoadOpposite End of Khao San RoadOpposite End of Khao San Road

You're never really that far from home, after all.
way I can describe it is as a complete and total attack on the senses. I haven't quite taken to Bangkok in the way I thought I would. It seems to be a city unsure of where it is going. It has clearly responded to the massive tourism and maybe not in the best way. I'm not sure what I mean by that yet but as I spend more time here, I think I'll get a better feel for its nature.

I'm staying at the Sawasdee guest house, recommended by Lonely Planet. I paid more than I
should (500 TBH, about $15 CDN) but I really wanted my own bathroom. I checked out the communal bathrooms and I still can't quite figure out how you are supposed to shower OVER the toilets thus I opted for my own bathroom. Plus air conditioning. I also picked this place because it also has a travel agency where I just booked my ticket to Hanoi for next week and they are taking care of the visa arrangements for me as well.

I'm off now to explore the city as well as figure out whether I want to go to Ko Chang
The Sawasdee Guest HouseThe Sawasdee Guest HouseThe Sawasdee Guest House

View of the front door from my dinner table. This was a really fun, vibrant guesthouse, really clean and well-priced. I'm going to stay there again next week.
or Ko Samet (where Debbie and Chris are going) tomorrow. Ko Chang seems to be a lot more travel but maybe the beaches are better. I also think it's cheaper. I just want somewhere to chill for a few days until I get back here next Tuesday to pick up my visa and head to Vietnam!


AM

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb