1 Night in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 12th 2006
Published: July 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yes, I finally made it. My flight in this morning on Singapore Airlines was like a
dream. That is, without a doubt, the best airline I have ever flown. It was six hours to
Bangkok which flew by.

Because I missed my connection last night, my hotel did not rebook a room for me even
though I emailed them to explain the situation. So when I arrived they were booked up.
Thankfully, they recommended a nearby hotel at a reduced rate which I took. That's where
I'm writing from right now, the internet kiosks in the lobby. As I write this, the sky
just opened up and a torrential downpour began. Wow, such powerful rain! It was 33
degrees Celcius when I landed around 1 pm today so I supposed I should get used to the
heat, rain and humidity.

Tomorrow, I'm off to explore Khao San Road (www.khaosanroad.com), which is essentially
the backpacker ghetto of Bangkok, and find cheaper accommodations. I have never seen
anything like it, just driving through in the taxi. The whole city appears to be a
complete attack on the senses. I'm also off to find a place to buy a ticket to Hanoi
(capital of Vietnam) and get my Vietnamese visa. But right now, I just need sleep. I
didn't sleep very well in Tokyo last night and I think it was due to the time change. I
didn't sleep at all on my flight this morning. So even though it's 4 pm here now, I think
I might just get something to eat and settle in here for the night.


AM

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb