A visit to the Doctor and a change of plans


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 17th 2012
Published: August 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So last night I visited the hospital doctor. My bites were getting worse and I was concerned that I was due to leave the city and wanted to get them looked at again before leaving.

I feel happier after this recent visit. He told me not to bother with the other tablets and creams as given by the previous clinic, as my mosquito bites have become infected and can only be treated effectively with something stronger. I have ben given antibiotics, Augmentin, which is basically amoxycillin, 1g twice daily. I woke this morning and they already feel better as do I.

However, one thing the doctor his say, was to leave Bangkok, the sooner the better, as the mosquitos here don't like me....I'd never have guessed that. Haha. So 16 pounds later I left following a consulation and with a bag of medication. (you'd not get service like that back home!)

Anyway, I had booked a mini van to take me to Kanchanaburi this morning but have decided to forfeit the cost of 4 pounds and head to another city, rather than somewhere near the river, where I'm more likely to be attacked by mosquitos. So I'm heading to Chiang Mai by overnight sleeper train. It leaves at around 19.30. I have checked out of my room here at the hostel and am leaving my bag here until I leave for the train station later this evening. Its a little expensive on the overnight train, but it also saves on a nights accommodation somewhere.

I have booked 2 nts in Deejai Backpacker (look it up) and then 3 nts in Eco Resort Chiang Mai (look it up)

I will visit Kanchanaburi when I am back in Thailand later in the year, perhaps by then I will be used to the mosquitos?!

To sum up my time in Bangkok...most people feels that 3 days is long enough to spend in Bangkok, however, that would be correct if you just plan to take in the tourist sights, however, to get a real feel for the city, the 5 night I have had, have been plentiful. I have really enjoyed my time in Bangkok and it has been a good insight into what is to come on my travels.

I can't wait to move on now to see what Chaing Mai has in store. I plan to take in the tourist sights, perhaps book on a cookery class and definitely want to experience time with the elephants.

Just online looking for accommodation now. Although as my plans changed suddenly, there is not as much choice as I would have liked.

I will post again on my arrival into Chiang Mai.

Love to all and miss you

xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb