Sightseeing


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 15th 2012
Published: August 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I slept really well last night and am embarassed to say that I did not wake until 08.45!

Got ready and headed down for a fruit and yoghurt breakfast - if you have not tried it, make sure you try Dragon Fruit, really colourful and tasted nice too. Seek it out in the supermarket. With this I had a lovely Iced Latte. A great way to start each day!

After consulting the bible that is "lonely planet' I asked the hostel for directions to Jim Thompsons House (as I mentioned in my previous blog, Jim Thompson is well known for selling thail silk to the western world, bringing employment and fame to the new found thai silk industry. In 1967 he disappeared when out walking in the Cameron Highlands, Malaysia and has never been seen since, not without want of trying from the Thais)

After a 100Baht taxi ride (in a pink taxi!) I arrived at the gates to this historical house.




100Baht entry, I feel is a good price, given that you are taken on a guided tour of the house and grounds first (in the langauge of your country) however no photos can be taken in the house itself.

Jim, has 7 teak style houses joined together over a period of 7 months and creasted this fabulous home for himself - with 2 western style bathrooms, unheard of within Thailand. Thai homes are built with the bathroom outside and they live on just one leve, the 1st floor, to prevent flooding on the home. However using marble imported from Italy (only every used in the palace before) Jim added a spectacular entrance hallway to his home and has bi-folding doors connecting each room, so he did not have to go outside to move between rooms.

Also within the lovely grounds of his home he built a gardeners house and rice storage house.

Whilst there, I also had the opportunity to watch the silk process. See photos. Quite amazing to say it all comes from caterpillars - what would the silk industry do without caterpillars?!

From there i headed out using the BTS skytrain (like the metro, only cheaper and high over ground) 20baht to Lumphini Park. A stunning 142 acre park set with the city of Bangkok. In the middle of the park is an articfical lake, and I had the opportinuty of meeting the local wildlife (the Giant monitor Lizards, which roam freely in the park/lake)

The park was created in 1920 by the king within Royal Grounds and a statue of the king still stands at the park entrance.

I got speaking with a Thai man, who gave me a little history on buddhism, we actually got onto the subject whilst I was watching a monk relaxing by the lake.

It's amazing, who you end up striking a conversation with.

From there i took the BTS skytrain to the national stadium and spent an hour or two at MBK Mall. Basically a mall about 10 x the size of the trafford centre over 8 floors selling anything and everything with a huge food court. has lunch there and then headed back via taxi to the hostel.

I have quite a few more bites now and believe me they hurt like hell! They have a huge blister on the top.

Can you image the state of my skin after my stay by the river in Kanchanaburi?!

Anyway, currently sat in the common area using the computer whilst a number of people are watching TV. The daily downpour has just stopped.

Thankfully no sunburn, just seem to be slowly colouring. I think its because there is no direct sunlight here, although it is extremely hot and humid the vast majority of the time it is quite overcast.

I going to pop out for spring rolls later and maybe even a banana pancake before coming back to relax.

Also just waiting for the washing machine to come free so I can get some darks washed before I leave on friday morning.

My final day in Bangkok tomorrow will be spent at the Grand Palace and Wat Pho, seeing the golden reclining Buddha.

Take care, love to all xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 66, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb