Still in Bangkok ....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 15th 2012
Published: August 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok.

Yes, I'm still in Bangkok. And it's still very hot and humid.

So last night myself and Barbara (Polish) headed towards the Chao Phraya river to see Wat Arun lit at night across the river.

Heading there, the whole intersection was lit with fairy lights..it was lovely, until you saw all the rats in the streets. I guess Bangkok is not that clean after all !

Again, I had pad Thai (Street Food) for tea and we had a wander up and down khao San road before returning to the hostel to catch the end of a film a few people were watching.

I had a great nights sleep and it's embarrassing to say I slept in until 8.45!!

After a quick shower and change and I'm now just having fruit and yoghurt along with an iced latte for breakfast whilst trying to figure out how to get to Jim Thompsons House; if you don't know about this guy look him up, he was someone who promoted Thai silk to western markets until his disappearance in 1967 whilst in the Cameron highlands, Malaysia.

After that I'm going to have a wander around Lumphini Park and then head to MBK Mall later this àfternoon/early evening.

I am up to bite count 16 now, plus a stray 2, one on my chin and one on my neck. I'm using the cream the pharmacy gave me and am on regular antihistamines to no prevail so far.

Note to myself - I also need to ask the front desk if a taxi can take me to Thonburi station on Friday morning, as from what I've read you need to use the river ferry which is a long walk from the hostel, and with all my bags it'll be some task!!

Anyway off to eat my breakfast now.

Love to all. Xx

Ps. If you've never tried it, eat some dragon fruit, it's lovely!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb