A good time to post


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 14th 2012
Published: August 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok.

Well if ever there was a good time to sit and post, this is it. The daily rain has just arrived. It's such a funny sight to watch each day. The streets are lined with food vendors, people selling clothes and general tourist tat, happily praying on us tourists, then the rain comes and the hurry to pull the covers down on their stalls, coving the food as best they can. The locals wandering happily in the rain whilst us, we're hiding under any refuge of cover we can find.

Me, well I'm sat in the common are, watching the rain, drinking a banana frappe updating this blog.

After a better rest than the prev night, I woke at around 6am, along with half the dorm, some up as they were heading to the airport, everyone else booked on various tours. Myself and Marcus, a German lad, waited for the bus and arrived at around 9am at the floating market on the outskirts of Bangkok.





On arrival we took a motor powered gondola through the local village waterways to the market. Getting to the market we hopped in a gondola which slowly made its way through the myriad of vendors in gondolas selling everything from food to canvas photos and everything in between. The general idea is that as you near a seller you may wish to buy from you make it known and they kind of hook you over, a little like getting a duck at the fun fair. I really enjoyed the experience but just bought mango and sticky rice for brunch and fresh coconut juice.

I can't wait until I get a better connection to upload the photos so can get a better understanding of what I'm describing.

Since returning at Around half 1, I've popped to the cash machine, which thankfully took my card, I was very anxious following the horrorstories of others in the hostel. Got some bite relief from the pharmacy, yes I've been attacked by Mosquitos!!

My leg muscles are killing, everything is so far away from each other (temples wise) and I've never eaten so much rice & noodles. Pad Thai is now my staple diet. It's soooooo delicious and so unbelievably cheap!

After a shower and quick nap, we're heading out to a wat by the river that is supposed to look amazing when lit around sunset.

Tomorrow, I'm off the the grand palace and reclining Buddha in the a.m, then MBK mall for an hour, to avoid the afternoon rain and then to lumphini park at 6pm to join the locals in their evening aerobics class...yes, that's right, me & aerobics!! :-)

That's it for now

Love to all. Xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb